You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pimp Your Post #55 - 2 Steem Bounty

in #payitforward5 years ago (edited)

If you're having a rough day, or need to appreciate what you have in life, you will after reading my post:

Life is Precious #6 - The Station Nightclub Fire

I spent almost a week researching the story and most of the day writing and editing it. I thought there would be a lot of engagement, but so far no one has left a recollection or thoughts on life in general.

According to steemworld, the post is two days and 11 hours old at this moment, so I may have seen this post just in time.

It's tough to put so much effort in a post that no one see's, yet somebody posts 30 words with a pic of their dinner and gets 20 comments on it. Makes one wonder why they should put so much effort into crafting a well-written article. Where are the @curie curators? In over two years, I don't think I've ever been featured by them.

I'm thankful for my curation trails, so at least my writing gets some support. Somebody must remember where they were in early 2003 when they heard about the fire at the Station Nightclub, headlined by Great White. Please check my post out so I don't have to resort to publishing pictures of a ham sandwich. Thanks! :)

Sort:  

I read your post and upvoted. An interesting and well researched article. Although I would question your disgruntlement about the attention you think the post deserves.
From what I've learnt about building a social media audience over the years is that I have to focus on being my authentic self, ie not create posts that I think others will like that aren't true to myself. Also, just keep putting it out and trust that the right audience will respond.
Is it different here because everything is monetised? More high stakes? Probably.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your support. And that post was not created to appease a demographic. I see you're new, having joined in October. I've been here over two years and it's more about the body of work, not monetization.

Veterans know what I'm talking about, with low/no effort posts getting plenty of engagement while others were missed. We've lost so many great bloggers because of that. I don't expect a new person to get it, but thanks for checking my post out! :)

Veterans know what I'm talking about

Yes we do :(

Hope to see you coming back to our Pimp Your Post event each week. If you help support others here they are great about supporting and engaging with you. Do consider joining our Discord Channel if you haven't already and you can add a post per day in the promotion area with the requirement that you visit and support 2 other posts first. We are all about give first and then receive, and maybe more important about engagement and encouragement.

I like what you're doing here. It will attract new users to Steemit and help retain the current ones. Thanks! :)

Thank you for the kind words...and we really do believe that is what we are achieving here.

Hope you give the curation contest a try. It's a fun way to give back a little to the community.

Thank you for commenting on my post. However, I think I'm going to cease these heavily-researched high effort posts.

I have a deeply personal, epic post in development about the night I almost died at sea. I'm going to shelve it, as I'm perplexed at what makes these "posts of the week" lists.

Travel posts of pretty pictures taken by the water are what they seem to like. I've written good articles about domestic violence, psychopaths and now fire safety that never make these lists. I even follow the @curie curation trail, to no avail. I remain astonished that I had to come here to get comments on my post.

When I published it, I really thought it would spark a discussion about the widespread use of this flammable foam in the home.

Two days later, nothing. So I went over and viewed the pretty vacation pictures posts that do get featured, with many comments.

So, while I intend to remain engaged, I'm going to dial it way back and produce much shorter posts without all of the research effort as before, since I don't live in a picturesque area where I can take pictures of the beach. I live in PA in a gritty city that is not what anyone would call photogenic. Thanks again for your support! :)

I think that a large part of engagement happens when you are actively engaging on others posts. Then when you find good ways to tag people within the post to make ginabot notify them of the mention. I watch those that are the best at getting engagement and many found ways to tag others in the post drawing them into discussion.

It's an art for sure. I do feel long form posts are worthy of the effort, but as a mix with mainly shorter form posts designed for quick engagement with people. Attention spans seem to be short these days.

BTW, I am the person behind @pifc's comments.

Good article. (Upvoted and Commented.)

I think you are not alone on that. Sometimes I waste a lot of time doing a post and only bots respond. Other times I post a single photo and I get 10 replies or so. Maybe most people aren't interested in reading long posts?

Thanks, it's something to think about. However, I usually just write until the article is complete, rather than shooting for any word count. This and the Ghost Ship fire really affected me.

Commented & upvoted. Life is indeed precious. 👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Visited and upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28