Path of Exile: Linny the Dead at Level 82 steemCreated with Sketch.

in #pathofexile5 years ago (edited)

image.png

So my journey unofficially ends here for Synthesis. I still plan to play, but it will be at a much, much lower intensity.

My SSF HC witch was finally killed...by a strongbox. It was an explosion for the miserly gains of 6 scrolls, 1 orb of chance and some lame magic item.

-sigh and weep-

As I wrote previously, everything is hazardous in Hardcore, especially those loot boxes. I'd actually got to level 5 maps, but then decided to go back and run some lower maps at higher difficulty for the drops and experience. When I read the modifiers on that map and the mention of fire on floors, I should have known better. Almost all my significant deaths have ended with fire puddles.

I fear fire in-game.

Fiery ground is an omen of an imminent rip for me.

Fire + rare strongbox + rare map + subpar HP (4k life + 1.5 ES) was a recipe for disaster.

She was dead in a bang! hehehe

Poor gal, I really loved her so. As we do with all our Hardcore characters we spend countless hours protecting as we battle boss after boss. Here is where she ended.

image.png
(The glowing spores that surrounds her and the glowing aura character effect are mystery box rewards I gave myself for her dying. I got a few for all the hard work!)

I will carry the scar of the killer strongbox explosion with me for many leagues. But I'm not unhappy she has gone to Standard SSF heaven (our HC characters get moved out of the Synthesis league on death). It's really time I spent more time writing and drawing, and less time playing Path of Exile.

It's been intensely fun though, so I won't stop playing completely. There's still so much to learn about the game. But I do welcome a brief break from the pressure I put on myself.

I've also gotten invited to the discord server of an Aussie Hardcore Guild. They have pretty stringent requirements for sociability, and also that we must play every first 6 weeks of every new league solely in Hardcore! So I'm committed to playing in that game mode for the longer term, and it would require more practicing in order to work my way into their ranks. If you're an Aussie looking for a Hardcore guild, you can apply here.

https://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/547914/page/1

Note: You must have gotten your Immortal Achievement before you get an invite to their discord server.

So far, they seem like an active and friendly group. I've been through a few Softcore guilds now, and I've found it hard to find the right fit as far as what I'd like in a guild community. It'll be interesting to see if I can learn more from a group of dedicated hardcore players.

Finally, while I don't follow builds, I wouldn't have gone as far in this game without interacting with other players across different forums. There is a great Facebook group that is supportive, and I spend a fair bit of time on the Path of Exile Forum asking questions or chatting to other players. One of my favorite go-to players for opinions on the game is a Hardcore player who has influenced how I went about my latest skill tree. I thanked him earlier. Granted, he doesn't advise SSF because he sees it as some form of self flagellation (lol), and he's always suggesting that I go to the dark side and play Hardcore (trade) league. So that's what I'll be doing for the remainder of Synthesis. Casually playing the Synthesis Hardcore trade league as EvilLinny. XD

The end (for now)!

Sort:  

So is it back to "real" life for a bit?

Oh dammit, stop making me feel guilty! lol
Yes, it is back to real life. I'm just casually levelling up my new HC witch approx. one act a day and more in a I-don't-care-lets-face-tank you mode. I'm going to do some drawing as opposed to spending all my free time playing. Haven't been practicing much. But as I said to you, I've a date with my kids in Minecraft!!

Nooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!

It’s totally okay. It’s a semi-relief the pressure is off for a bit. Gotten a lot of support from my fav PoE Facebook group too. That surprised me actually! I was trying to figure out what the heck ‘F’ meant, but apparently that’s a respect thing. Gamers and their shorthand comms, not sure how I’m supposed to write that into my novel!

Oh, woke up this morning and saw an invite to be a mod for the group too. It’s really nice someone mistakenly thought I am sensible enough to be a mod. I’m sure they’ll live to regret it. So I feel the effort has been appreciated by some, and has helped me fit in a little more with this gaming crowd. Wasn’t so long ago, some asses in a voice chat told me to get back in the kitchen. 😂🤣

lol 'F'
never heard of that before; then again; I don't understand a lot of the jargon these days. signs of getting old 😭

NICE!! Congrats on being a mod; I'm sure you will stir lots of trouble with that power. lol

Wasn’t so long ago, some asses in a voice chat told me to get back in the kitchen. 😂🤣

WTF; you're kidding me. Hope they were only kidding; else I'll get Soju prepared for her ninja attack.

WTF; you're kidding me. Hope they were only kidding; else I'll get Soju prepared for her ninja attack.

Nope, not kidding. But generally, PoE gamers are helpful and polite. This was just an exceptionally crappy mix. I was quite taken aback how aggressive they got when you expressed an opinion they didn't like. But as you'd know, there is a toxicity that is ever present in the gaming culture. I'd like to explain more, but I hate getting negative about players. It's just a game.

Ohhhh noooo!!!! RIP!!

❤🤗

Now that you know fire is your death omen I'm sure you can work around it next time xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the visit, bear! Yeah, there will no doubt be a next time! lol

You have one life and you should always remember this and not relax! Take a break and continue the race! ;)

It’ll be a switch in pace this weekend, I’m considering doing some PoE fan art as opposed to playing. Just need to pick up the stylus as opposed to loading the game. Hope your journey is going well. Gl!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57