I don't want to brag, but my level 1 alchemist totally cleaned up in a pathfinder session last night...

in #pathfinder8 years ago (edited)

So, when I was a kid I played D&D.  I stopped for like 10-20 years because I became an adult and honestly at times felt too cool to roleplay despite playing shit like WOW for hours on end.  Anyway(s) a friend of mine has been a hardcore gamer for years and kept talking about pathfinder.  It's basically an opensourced D&D 3.5 campaign, but they made national rules that everyone follows so it's easy to take a character from one gaming session to another.


I played my third campaign last night.  After I got fired I decided to focus on the things that matter, like friend and family for a while. So, when my buddy told me to start playing again with him I finally said ok.  So, not only did my alchemist gain a level, but it was a pretty fun experience to play with my friend and blow shit up.  

First off there was a girl there!  BOOM!  She was kinda cute too.  So, that had to be a sign from God.  

Then I had to save the party a lot.  The alchemist is a ranged touch attack splash damage character.  Ranged means I can hit from far away.  Touch means I can ignore armor, which makes it easier to hit.  Splash means I hit the bad guy I was aiming at and all the monsters around him.  Since it was a first level adventure I was gambling on undead.  So I packed some holy water.  I was dropping holy bombs all night blowing up 2d4+6 damage per round and barely missing since they are easy to hit.  I dropped almost every single mob while my friends were fatigued or otherwise unable to do shit.

So, I'm going to keep going.  I've even come out of the closet here as an occasional D&Der.  I won't be ashamed anymore.  To hell with all the haters.  I got a PhD, I'm a nerd, I'm a dork, and I'm proud of my bomb dropping alchemist cleaning house.

I haven't gone larping yet, but if I'm being brutally honest with myself it's in my future.  Gotta wait for it to get warmer first.

Sort:  

Great to read this. RP used to be a big part of my life. I feel much too old for it now yet still sometimes yearn for a really well DM'd campaign.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29