Lost my password

in #password6 years ago

A couple of weeks ago I changed my password as a matter of precaution and logged in and out for a few days. And then after logging in on the third day I headed over to discord to do a self promotion and posted my password because I forgot it was still in my browser.

password-2781614_640.jpg

One of the admin informed me a couple of minutes later that I should delete my post because my steemit password was there, and after looking at the post I found this to be so. So I deleted the post and immediately went to steemit to change the password again, which I did successfully and then logged out and then logged back in just to make sure it worked, which it did.
So that was that and I hadn't lost my account and I was lucky no one had taken it.

internet-1952019_640.jpg

The next day I tried to sign in and couldn't. So I sent steemit a note to say my password wasn't working anymore, but they sent an automated reply back to say that they couldn't recover lost passwords.
I thought my account was lost for good.
After trying everything I could think of I tried the recovery for stolen passwords even though it said my latest password hadn't been used in the past 30 days, which it had, but hey, I was talking to a machine.
So I did that and pressed enter and sat back to wait.

thinker-1294493_640.jpg

Two weeks later and still no reply and I had pretty much given up hope of getting my account back.
And then in my email was a link to go and get a new password which I did and hey presto I'm back into my account.

I have no idea why the password didn't work two weeks ago; maybe it was just a glitch in the system, but at least it is possible to get your account back with patience and good luck.
I do feel that if I'd lost my password though that I wouldn't have got my account back.

As a by the by: we all know that after 7 days there is no more pay out on our posts, but did you know that you can upvote comments on the post and get paid? I didn't know this and so didn't upvote any posts older than 7 days because it would be a waste of my voting power, but now I do upvote older posts in the comments below it, which is a good way to reward the author of the post if you think it's a good post...

Sort:  

I have seen similar issues with other users. I believe the request to change the password was sent twice, under load or bad wifi/connection the server can accept both and issue two responses. You received the first one but the second was not seen. But because the second request to change the password was processed the first password that you obtained became useless.... just my theory I may be wrong.

I got it back somehow and that's all that really matters...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wales from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88