Made a mistake in my post... best mistake ever...now my post is a commentary on Steemit.

in #password7 years ago (edited)

So, my original post was to share with newbies some things I didn't know while getting started with this community. But, my original post had one piece of misinformation... that content posted was permanent and not editable. This was probably the best thing that could have happened to me. I experienced how a fellow Steemian @g-no could reach out and inform me that I was in fact mistaken. So, content is fixed. The edited post is listed below and I'll keep it there even though it's not the main point anymore.

The big aha moment was...

I just realize that with Steemit's ecosystem, millions will join in content creation and edit. Checks and balances are weighed in on quality. Unlike Wikipedia, which is still quite accurate despite its relatively small pool of volunteers, I believe Steemit will also end up surpassing Wikipedia as a trusted resources, because when mistakes like mine are made, we have a vested interest in fixing it... mainly reputation. Steemit will end up with millions of contributors because they have a stake in growing it.

There's no doubt that @g-no would probably been happy to help and probably didn't expect anything in return, but it was so great to see that he got compensated for helping me. In fact, I think, I was at 1.67 for my post and he was at 5.63. And that to me, is a beautiful thing!

As of now, it's rare when a famous person can be declared dead by Wikipedia without someone correcting it quickly. As we all know, in Steemit, the community quickly shared how Vitalik Buterin was in fact, alive and well.

I believe Steemit will absorb all social content creation if it keeps heading in this direction in beta. I'm fascinated. I have no idea how we all get paid, but for now, I am just thrilled to be part of this beta group.


I still want to add a couple pictures to this post but have to run to a meeting. Thank goodness I can edit later!


---------------------------------My original post below---------------------------


The “Permanent Record” is real.

Wow, I really appreciate how the Steemian community makes such a valiant effort in conveying the importance of being careful about a few things during the signup process. I actually read every word of the terms and services agreement and read many helpful posts.

Except, I know my husband. He won’t read the fine print when signing up for this community, so I’m going to spell it out for him… (He’s pretty good about reading whatever I write.)

So, here goes, what’s permanent...

Your Password Keys

Okay Babe (husband), from my understanding, there are 4 types of keys. As long as you never lose your Owner key password, you can reset it if you need to. However, if you lose the Owner key, you’ll never be able to access your account. It’ll be the end of your account regardless of if you have a good following. EVEN IF YOUR ACCOUNT GENERATES INCOME OK. Now, I know he’s listening.

Your Account Name

Yep, it’s permanent and can’t be changed, so choose wisely! I almost used my name since it’s such an easy name to remember but instead, I chose i54321go because it helps me take immediate action when I'm inspired before fear or doubt kicks in.

So, what’s editable?...

The Content You Post

Yes! It is editable! I originally thought it wasn't. Thank you so much @g-no for helping me out!

The Comments You Make about Other People’s Posts

Now, this is interesting! I just tested it out and it looks like I can edit comments I make! Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong!

Your Replies to Other’s Comments

It looks like it’s editable as well! So, you're good here too. There really is something magical about this community. It was lots of fun to response to such encouraging comments. Thank you for your support!

My guess is, my husband reads this post and asks me set him up. If this happens, my post has met its objective!

Steemian i54321go signing off! Til’ we Steem again.

Special shoutout to @steemitguide for providing us with https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitguide/a-complete-guide-on-steemit-permission-keys-posting-owner-active-memo-digital-passwords-with-unique-functionality-that-allows
Sort:  

Agree totally on picking the username, be careful not to give away too much unless you absolutely want to!

However you CAN edit your posts, even after you upload them.

I fixed it! Thank you so much for helping me! Thank God it's editable. Whew! Following you... I just tried putting ~~ before and after a word to cross out what I had, and it didn't strike out my previous text so I just had to delete it. Any idea how to cross something out?

You can strike out any portion of your post when you select the text you want to be struck through and then choose the button on top that looks like an 'S' with a line through it.

Got it! Will do that next time. Thanks again!

Thank you @g-no! I apologize for the late reply. I'm posting on @karencarrens now. I just realized I could review replies in eSteem! I appreciate that nugget!

Congratulations @i54321go! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59696.15
ETH 2618.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41