Password recoverysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #password7 years ago

A few weeks ago I set out a bounty for a way to recover some data backuped on old travan tapes from my brother.


No I have the hardware and software (HP Colorado Backup II) running but it seems two of the four tapes are password protected. Probably a very easy password (set in 2000 I guess) but still. Has someone an idea how I can recover that password or "white hack" it?

Sort:  

I never done this but it seems like you should be able to recover them.

You might want to google password cracker. You'll probably need one graphic card. More will be better. Let us know if you arrive at something.

I will try help you @famunger, give me time to fine best solution for it

That would be great - still can't find a proper solution. I found tools to brute force hashes - but I don't have a hash of the password as it is stored on the tape itself. So I am in a loop here.

@famunger
is the password eight digits? If so, have you tried using the password below :

00000000
98765432
01234567

Maybe this link will provide something useful information

Hi @dodybireuen
I am not sure how the syntax of the password is. I guess it is random (you are able to choose what ever you like). It is not a "standard" password - it is a password set for each backup individually. What you linked is a "administrator" password for the backup software itself I guess.

Hi @famunger, I'll find another way, and I will tell you if I have got it

For chatting: you got skype? you will find me here: [email protected]

I will create a skype account

Any idea so far?

@famunger : I'm sorry about recovery password, I've been trying to find solutions on various people and discussion forums in my country. But do not have a good solution. maybe Only one solution is to contact customer service tape drive product. I'm sorry christian... I still fail to help you.

I tried to contact you via skype, but there is no response

Hi dear @famunger, I hope you got a solution of password recovery and always best wishes for you.
If you don't mind I ask a question from you, about 3 weeks ago I send you SBD for UPVOTE my post but still not received any response from you, plz can you tell me the reason why you stop that promoting service..?

Thank you for yout kind words.
See my comment in my profile - I am no such upvoting service nor do I habe interest in being one. I purely tried to help people getting things started.

Try a search on google, there are services and software available.

travan tape recovery software password

I think you arrive at tha last step to recovery your password and I pray for you my friend. All the best for you.

Regards

Hope you'll be able to recover your password soon..or God will create for you such circumstances...
Well I don't have much knowledge about it that what is your exact case..
Try to search on Google for some keys or software to get your password back
All the best..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83