Monthly Passive Income Report - September 2017

in #passiveincome7 years ago (edited)

I'm working towards financial independence, where I don't depend on a job to survive. At best I'll be able to quit work forever in the near future. At worst, I'll rely less and less on someone else to survive and have more options when it comes to "work".
To get there, I'm focusing on building up alternative income streams.

The more passive income I can generate, the less I'll rely on a regular job to cover my expenses. To track my progress, every month I'll share a passive income report and talk about how I did it.

September 2017

September was a busy month - I opened a new checking account for a bonus worth $200, and sold a guitar, some books, some camera equipment, and some gift cards. I had a lot of success selling old books on Amazon and plan to continue going through old books and finding ones to sell.

The results:

Credit Card Rewards$0.00
Apps$0.00
Dividends$151.89
Blogging$0.00
Steemit$9.20
Other$58.73
Total$219.82

I have a decent amount of credit card rewards that I haven't cashed out yet, but will count them when I redeem them. The bonus for my checking account, as well as income from most of the stuff I sold is still pending and should come through this month.

I earned quarterly dividends on my investment accounts (401k and IRA), and cashed out the rest of my Lending Club investment (very glad to be done with that!).

I also earned $9.20 in my first month on Steemit! I've been pretty inactive for the last week or so as I've been focusing on other things but I'm going to put in a lot of time here in October.

The Plan For October

My focus for this month will be to launch a new blog project I've been working on for the last couple of months. While I know it takes time to grow a blog, I'm trying to come out of the gate as strong as possible. I'm writing a lot of content up front - when I started Finance Yo Self, I had maybe 10 posts mostly written, with a bunch of ideas jotted down.

I also have some more stuff I'll be looking to sell, and will be cashing in some rewards and getting paid for all the stuff I sold in September. I'm also going to focus on being more productive on Steemit - writing and commenting regularly, every day.

Thanks for reading! I always find it motivating to read about how other people are making extra money and I hope the same goes for you with these reports!

Sort:  

Good luck @thatguymatt; I will be one of the people looking to see how you are progressing. Remember to get rich ... slowly :)
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrencies/@wanderingmind/cryptocurrencies-get-rich-slowly

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Great work Matt. May every month be higher than the last! I'll be writing my side hustle as well as a dividend update soonish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57