You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follow Your Passions! And... Just WHY Should We Do That?

in #passion6 years ago

People that live under rocks is always the butt of jokes. Please stop bulling under-rock dwellers. Jokes aside, I like your post very much. I'm very fortunate in that I have several things that I feel passionate about and one of those things is computer programming. That allowed me to earn a living, but I also program in my own time as a hobby often times. I no longer program as a job since I moved to another IT area but I program to alleviate my chores nonetheless and I really enjoy it.

Some idealistic movements during the last couple of centuries had lead people to adopt in the “pursue your passion” mindset. I think one has to be useful to society by solving practical problems, obviously you can pursue your passion on the side in your own time and if you are lucky enough you can even be like Charles M. Schulz that earned a very comfortable living and great respect by drawing the Peanuts comic strip.
Art also plays an important role in the well being of a society but you have to be lucky to one of the statistically few who earn a living from it.

I totally agree with you, but in the other hand I believe people should have hobbies or passions because all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

I wanted to highlight something about my experience in Steemit (not my main source of income but it helps). Since there is no guarantee that a post will even be well rewarded, you might as well have a good time writing it. So I try to write things that amuse me to begin with (I write mostly humor). That way if the post doesn't produce a good reward at least I had a good time and had my laughs.

Also I share your passion about sleeping and I have a substcription to the “Modern Sleeper Magazine”... That was a lame joke. I'm an insomniac and I would like to have a better sleep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62714.40
ETH 3447.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51