You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follow Your Passions! And... Just WHY Should We Do That?

in #passion6 years ago

I am definitely following my passions these days. I like to create and share my ideas. I don't think it matters if it is writing, video, audio, etc. I just like to communicate what I think about the world. Sometimes that makes money. Sometimes it doesn't.

I think you are wise to examine the refrain people saying "follow your passion." The career/money aspect can be a point of contention for sure. Following your passions is damn simple if you don't expect remuneration. But I, like you, expect to be paid if I am helping someone else build their business or brand.

Great writing as always. I'm always impressed with your work.

(P.S.: Upvote is inbound. You are on my Steemvoter now, because your work is always top notch.)

Sort:  

Hi Chris, thanks for the supportive words!

Yes, it's much easier when we don't give a flip as to whether it makes money or not. I have probably shared twenty million words for free, but it never stopped me from writing... it happens to be a delightful thing that there's a reward here, but it's not-- and never will be-- the determining factor. Art is a little different because there's a cost of supplies there... and I'd sort of "expect" to at least be able to make that back, otherwise it gets depressing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51