Tempting Tarts

in #partiko5 years ago

I very seldom take myself out to eat. When I do it's usually for a treat. A week ago I had to go to the doctor for my annual physical exam so that I can save money on the exorbitant health insurance premiums.

After waiting for over an hour to see the doctor, and reading a lot of my Kindle book, Dragonfly in Amber [Outlander part 2] I was getting hungry. There's an adorable little coffee shop sitting right by Conneaut Lake near Ice House Park named Vicave.

The food is a bit pricey, but it's got a great vibe and a variety of things that you cannot normally find out in a rural area, so I'll pay the price. I have discovered that they have delicious tarts. The first time I went with Jeff I got the peach tart pictured in the photograph, he got lochs and bagels. The next time I went was last week. I got a blackberry tart which was extremely delicious. For a coffee a tart and a small bowl of strawberries it cost me over $12. I can honestly tell you that I enjoyed every bite. The pastry base of the tart is made out of filo dough which is very thin layers leaving a bit of crunch and a lot of crumbs with each bite.

I contemplated purchasing the second tart just to take with me that are really couldn't justify the expense other than the fact that they are delicious. I think perhaps I should practice and make my own tarts since I really like them.

I'm not particularly a people person when I go out for a bite alone, but I love people watching in a small cafe. The windows facing West have a calm view of the Silver Shores restuarant and boat docks. Summer is the best time to pop in on a lazy morning for a coffee and meal. I'm hungry for a cherry tart now.

photo capture by me at Vacave Cafe, Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania

Here is today's freewrite. The prompt tart
Find new daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I thought I am the only soul who treats herself to solo treats. I love the idea of watching people from a distance and in a way it helps with my creativity. I have written awesome pieces in cafes ♡

Yes! I knew were were traveling the same plane. @tezmel. Writing in cafes is definitely inspiring. I wrote in them during my long 11 year journey for a 4 year bachelor's degree. I hope you are well and enjoy the day/evening.

Posted using Partiko Android

Solo hangouts are life and writing while experiencing them is beautiful. I am doing great... just crawling back to a community I love after sorting out the real life part. How is your health? Keep smiling ♡

I'm glad to hear you're well. My migraine seem to be improved from PT. More botox is scheduled 6/5 and warm weather is slowly made it back! Hugs

Posted using Partiko Android

There’s very little I can think of that's better than a cuppa, a tart, a window seat and a few quiet minutes to enjoy them.
It’s the midweek prompt deliverers here with the word for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-586-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-chapter

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you for the prompt and I must agree with you @deirdyweirdy

Posted using Partiko Android

I am glad that you treated yourself. It sounds like a lovely place!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you ❤ it's so relaxing!

Posted using Partiko Android

It sounds like a lovely treat even if a bit pricey. I love meeting up with a friend for a cuppa and desert but solo also has it’s advantages to people watch and the view

Yes, I'd love to share that view with fellow steemians some day. If you ever come to Pennsylvania we have a room for you and we will go and have breakfast! @redheadpei

Posted using Partiko Android

I would love that @wandrnrose! Maybe someday. 😊

I would, too, @redheadpei

Posted using Partiko Android

🏆 Hi @wandrnrose7! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @wandrnrose7 :) | For investors.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78