The Move Away from Google

in #partiko5 years ago

I am trying to shift my reliance away from Google for all of the apps that I use. This is because I am becoming increasingly more worried about giving personal data away.

I guess crypto and steem have helped me think more about the concept of digital sovereignty. So now I am finding it harder to shake off thoughts about my reliance on so many of their "free" services.

So on my mobile phone I am now using the Brave browser that plugs into duckduckgo. I have installed Brave on my laptop, but must confess that I am struggling to get used to defaulting to this rather than chrome. I'm also looking at shifting all of my email to ProtonMail.

Appreciate your thoughts and input on the great escape...

PS The photo is from a beautiful walk this morning on Anglesey.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I have started doing exactly the same thing. Just wrote a post about Brave browser yesterday. I am loving it.

The stats and controls and option to allow websites access really makes me feel a lot more comfortable. As well as no more ads and intrusive trackers.

Think it is definately the way to go. Although it is quite a task to untangle yourself from the chokehold of the big guns (Google) used to tick me off that I was forced into doing everything under their watchful eye. I feel more calm these days😊💯

It's just so great having an alternative.

Check post
https://partiko.app/@michaeljn/new-brave-browser-this-is-brilliant-fast-safe-no-more-ads-cookies-tracking-full-user-control

Just read your write up on it. I completely agree. I am really liking it except for the stress or untangling myself from the ease of chrome as you say... Will stick with it for now though and hopefully make it permanent.

Posted using Partiko Android

:-) I think the beauty is that you can use all of the apps etc. that you used before, as long as you go through Brave Browser you still reap the Brave secure benefits.

I use Brave also. I love it, I recently wrote a blog about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Checked out your post. Really useful, thanks. Will stick with it for now and hopefully manage to stay put.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks and glad you found it to be useful. In time it will only get better.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi Steve. I struggled with other browsers and came back to Google. I wish they were as good, but they just aren't. It looks like a beautiful place to go for a walk. Must have been early and before work.

Yes, not sure how it will pan out. Google works so darn well! That's the prob. Lots of catching up to do...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for this. I have been giving some thought to doing so, as well.

Let me know how you get on

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @stevelivingston!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.198 which ranks you at #9002 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 18 places in the last three days (old rank 8984).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 325 contributions, your post is ranked at #226.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

The need for cyber security cannot be over emphasized. The best way one can go about it is by being self conscious albeit data security by self thereby doing away with lots of freebies, etc. Way to go Steve👍🏽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43