You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ten Thousand Steem Power

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

Interesting 20% I guess that’s working for some people ? Must be.. I appreciate you’re using discretion, not sure what you’d call a bad actor, but if I were paying off a delegation I’d. be inclined to self vote.

Anyway, I’d anticipate these rates will change if and when curation goes to 50% ? Seems like a good way to build a middle class especially if some large stake holders would generously delegate some sp for free for a month.

Bottom lines tend to deter generosity and goodwill though. Selling votes is kind of the lowest of the low imho and not doing much of anything to build a community or anything positive in the big picture..

Sort:  

Hi Skramatters,

Some people need Steem and are willing to pay 20% for it, I guess they really plan on being active. Nothing is wrong with self voting in my opinion unless you are upvoting your own comments. A Spam post is a Spam post with or without a self upvote.

Bad actors are people who steal other people's work, there are a few accounts that just post a stolen photo, say where they stole it from as if it's okay and bid it up. This is not right. Nor is a thoughtless post of a few words with a self upvote. Upvoting your own comments is weak too. There are also things people promote such as antivaxing or other conspiracy theororists that I won't delegate too because I fundamentally disagree with them.

I don't think selling votes is bad if you have a white list. For Steem to have economic value there has to be supply and demand. Look into OCDb by Acidyo, they have a strong community and an excellent whitelist. Most of my large payouts are because I buy votes off them, I also delegate so people can buy my votes.

It's economics, as long as you aren't promoting things that can hurt people such as not getting a vaccination, hatred, or unrestricted gun ownership I don't care what you do.

Edit: wanted to say HF21 should remove a lot of the benefits of buying and selling votes as they are probably increasing curation rewards to 50%. By buying upvotes you are really just helping those who curate.

Thanks for the response, i tend to agree with self voting being ok so long as the post is something you can be proud of and/or would vote if someone else created similar content.

Generally speaking it’s done in the bad acting way as a means to guarantee the best ROI available. Definitely, not a big deal for small fry like myself but I still don’t do it out of some sense of honour or something lol.

When I see it being done by people who complain about serial self voters I get a bit irked . especially on posts that are about abuse and our peculiar incentives system.

I am however not bothered by occasional casual posting, I don’t think every post needs to fit some idealistic vision of quality. It’s ok to just share something whimsical or satirical with a one liner or two at times. I’d rather see that than a forced 1000 words regurgitating generic concepts.

Am a fan of the STEM stuff and hope to keep the conspiracy stuff on the rest of the internet where it’s pervasive.

Different strokes though I suppose.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Don't get me wrong, I don't care what people post and love freedom. I just won't upvote things I disagree with. Hopefully with the changes comming up it will make it more difficult to bump trash up to the front page. Not that it shouldn't exist just that it shouldn't be the first thing people see when they come here as it is off putting to most.

Posted using Partiko Android

Totally agree

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea I’m whitelisted and aware of ocdb and think that’s great. I’m fine doing my own thing in hopes of establishing some rapport with people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68094.05
ETH 3777.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71