Something is a little rotten in the realm of blockchain.

in #partiko4 years ago

With @partiko on mothballs at this writing, and the developer(s) apparently AWOL for a couple of months now, home base at Steemit will have to do. (For reference, this gave us the last appearance of the familiar "Posted using Partiko Android" byline.)

A night or two ago, just when I thought it was finally time to move back to Aground (after a 24-day retool stint with Rogatia, partial Sevton Saga setting)…my Partiko install all but turned to dust. My profile page was blank, as well as the front-page highlights (save for a brief Android certificate expiry notice or something similar). Turning to the recent reviews on the GPlay listing, I was not alone in wondering what happened; even one or two users complained that the points stopped working weeks earlier. (Last I looked [or remember], I had accumulated 5,760.) Meanwhile, the official site is still up and running, but the feed there won't load. (Otherwise, all we're left with is a front-page promo and a QR code.)

Beats me why no one else has brought up the matter as much as I have at this point. (At least today's guest, @badripanda, was on the exact same boat. In the wake of my reply there, guess what you're reading right this minute?)

Needless to say, I'll never forget the enthusiasm the Partiko team showed in their comments of thanks every so often. Otherwise, long live Partiko…until they come back if at all.

A recent Publish0x writeup by Scott Cunningham hints at a switchover to Hive, a Steem fork which I resteemed a little coverage of last month. With that in mind, I'll let it stay another four weeks on my device as a memorial, or at least two if (and only if) the Hive transition is actually a go. Depending on how it goes, I'll keep it along, or switch clients to eSteem (as suggested by a couple of GPlay users).

All of which reminds me of familiar territory: Google+, Tsu, and 3tags. (The first has been gone for over a year with nary a recent retrospective in sight; the second is on the verge of a revival; and the last abruptly up and left, only to retool as the science-themed Pionic.org [which itself went away a short while afterward, but whose STM account, @Pionic, is still around].)

Were it not for this item, you would've seen either my next Marigot Notebook entry, or my new design (and nickname) for Rogatia. That said, the latter will arrive in the next 12-24 hours, so keep an eye out; the potential is too great to ignore. Let's see how my Unspooled manuscript revival can compete…and the Tasklist of Death can cope.

Until then, please stay safe, wipe everything down, wash your hands, buy accordingly...and God bless.

From here, please share your thoughts, stories, and experiences if you once used Partiko. Your name could be on my guest list next we meet.

CC0 Kopimi
(2854)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35