Lemons, Lemons, LemonssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #partiko5 years ago

When are these going to end? So a while has passed since my previous posts highlighting how difficult it's been trying to maintain my property and keep the house clean to show it for sale while living in it and caring for small children. I'm going to add a couple lemons on the pile of lemonade-making material here.

The other day both my kids fell ill with an acute sickness of some sort. Fever, chills, not sleeping at night, even vomiting on the way to the doctor. Doctor told us it's viral, manage symptoms with ibuprofen, plenty of fluids, rest, yada yada. After driving the family home, I spent a few minutes helping my wife get the kids inside then headed out to get the medicine. On my way out I found this.

Another tree committing suicide lol! I made short work of it with the chainsaw and my neighbor got some more firewood out of the deal. I was just running it the other day so it was in good tune and started right up.

Then I headed inside to make the kids my special homemade rice ramen chicken veggie soup. Got that out of the way and sat down at the desk to get some work done and the fan on the power supply of my computer started howling, then quit altogether. Time for a new power supply.

I ran off to Fry's to pick up a new one and swapped it in. Got a little grocery shopping out of the way while I was at it. Later that night my wife got sick. She's been doing the fever and shivering thing for two days now. It's been one thing after another the past few days.

Lemonade

Where's the lemonade you ask? Well first, I'm in good health. I must have had whatever bug is making them sick before because all I have is some mild cold/allergy type symptoms. Not fun, but hardly debilitating, so I was able to help nurse my wife and children back to health. Now everyone's starting to feel better.
Second, every one of these other problems that came up, I was quickly able to deal with. I'm very thankful for that. These problems could have been overwhelming if we hadn't been able to handily deal with them.
Oh yeah, almost forgot to mention. It's the reason I needed the computer the other day. We accepted an offer on our house, we're in escrow, and we get to move on to the next adventure in our lives soon! I'd say that's worth celebrating even if there are a few bumps along the way.
I'm not sure how well others like these recent lemons-themed posts, but I like them because they sort of force me to see the silver lining in the story. It's easy to get dragged down by negativity when things go wrong, but nobody wants to hear all that negativity in a blog post with no resolution I figure, so I have to find the lemonade in the lemons to conclude them. When I do, I feel better because I realize how much worse this stuff could have gone. For example, if that branch had fallen on the children in the bounce house during the birthday party, or if the cabinet in the garage had fallen off the wall while we were in there doing laundry, again with the kids standing right where they fell. Those things could have been much, much worse. I was feeling kind of bummed when I started this post, but now I realize how great I have it right now. Thanks for reading and Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49