Sort: ย 

"There is nothing more wonderful than a sinful gin" sounds like a great refrain for a song or a ballad. And there is something just as wonderful: your PHOTOS of that gin! Wow! The lighting in bars does not lend itself to such gorgeous photography. You are a genius, Raj. And I have to laugh: This is probably the closest I've ever come to a shitpost ๐Ÿคฃ - if this post is lame, you put the rest of us to shame. Let us now sing of sinful gin!

Ha ha, yes a sinful gin when it's drunk at 4pm in the afternoon in the sun ;-)

Thanks for checking out my silly alcoholic onboarding post Carol. Lol, I think I might have enough to buy the barmaid a half pint of beer.

I'd send you more, but I seem to remember having sent you a wallet transfer that you RETURNED to me for some silly reason. Correct me if I am wrong.
You deserve many whale slaps for your photography alone. Your words and pictures should make you rich.

Rich. You're already rich in talent and esteem. Words! Syntax! Seems like the more words I know, the more I misuse them.

No, don't send me steem. Ha ha, you're right about last time, I sent it back ๐Ÿ˜‰

I'm not proud, but at the time I found out I'd just won a ticket to steemfest just after you sent me some steem lol

With this post, it is also an experiment to see what will happen when I just let this be without any 'false' promotion like ocdb etc. I explained exactly how steem works to Beth and she was justifiably dubious. But the bet was, if I get enough for a drink without any bots etc she'd join. My reasoning being that I have put nearly 2 years of networking and content creation in to steem, if that can't raise enough for a g + t then I wouldn't want her to join lol

I'm basically gonna try and get her to use share2steem on her Instagram posts, but put a little time in networking to at least have some audience. We'll see, she might back out ๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

Proof that you can get enough for a drink without any bots :)
(That lovely "100" lasted for about two seconds.)
This time, no returns!

ย 5 years agoย (edited)

Awww... well you are too kind Carol. But I shall respect your wishes and not send it back. I'll try and use this to convince her to join as you meet so many kind, talented and genuine people on steem... it's worth joining just for that!

P.s. you are one of those kind, talented, genuine people Carol. Thank you, I am truly humbled. Don't spend all your SBD in one place lol

You must have been saving that for some time?

Thank you Raj! You're the role model of all those nice traits you so generously attribute to me. I haven't done even a fraction of what you contribute to Steemit!
Saving up a curie here, a curie there... a few months ago, @mariannewest and someone whose name I should remember (he was SO helpful!! Carl Nash?) showed me how to "Power Up" so my worthless upvote is now a whopping two cents. Until I rise to the level of "whale slap," I'm using @tipu for a 5-cent upvote on every post of whoever I designate. I'm still not sure how it works. Or how much comes out of my wallet. And I want to do it for more people but I'm waiting to see what it's costing first.

No, don't send me steem. Ha ha, you're right about last time, I sent it back ๐Ÿ˜‰

I'm not proud, but at the time I found out I'd just won a ticket to steemfest just after you sent me some steem lol

With this post, it is also an experiment to see what will happen when I just let this be without any 'false' promotion like ocdb etc. I explained exactly how steem works to Beth and she was justifiably dubious. But the bet was, if I get enough for a drink without any bots etc she'd join. My reasoning being that I have put nearly 2 years of networking and content creation in to steem, if that can't raise enough for a g + t then I wouldn't want her to join lol

I'm basically gonna try and get her to use share2steem on her Instagram posts, but put a little time in networking to at least have some audience. We'll see, she might back out still ๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

I've no doubt you'll make it. ๐Ÿ˜„ What does a drink cost, anyway?

Ha ha, well it depends on what she wants to drink. That gin creation cost ยฃ7.80 which is around $9.80. She does drink gin, so it's likely that's what she'll want, but if I can convince her to be sensible and have a single then it's only ยฃ5.60... around $7. Either way, not a cheap date ๐Ÿ˜‚

Lol, I'm a ways off yet but ya never know ๐Ÿ‘

Posted using Partiko Android

There's time.....:)

That's worth 100% upvote.

You've got enough for a lime and soda now!

Ha ha, cheers for the 100%-er m8

And thanks for checking out my silly alcoholic onboarding post. Lol, I think I might have enough to buy the barmaid a half pint of beer now ;-)

But unfortuntaly not a glass of dry white wine for the lady! At least not yet.

Posted using Partiko Android

Whether a sinful gin or a ginful sin, you can't beat a bet like that. Go buy that young lady a drink, then make a similar bet for Narrative. Only, you might have to wait a month because payouts are monthly, but if you post over there like you do over here, you should earn enough t buy some drinks. I think you hit upon a neat way to promote these sites off line.

Ha ha, yes.... I was definitely being altruistic ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‰

But in all seriousness, I'm gonna be seeing her tomorrow I think and we shall see what happens. It was kind of done for a laugh... but you're right admit it being a good idea to on-board people. Even if it's not a cheeky chappy like me trying to chat up the barmaid... the 'make a bet' style could work with a friend or work colleague. Basically, you say hey check out steem (or narrative), show them your posts and then bet them you can make enough for a beer/gin/coffee or whatever. Meet up with them 7 days later and then the proof is in the pudding ๐Ÿ™‚

I think you'd get a few people joining up when they see that you can get real world gains through the attention economy, rather than giving that attention away on Facebook.

Anyway, we'll see what she says tomorrow ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Posted using Partiko Android

my vote for Beths drink. It is absolutely right to convince people outside of steem to join. Therefore have a

!BEER

from me too ๐Ÿ˜‰

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the beer, I need a curer right about now ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‰

Posted using Partiko Android

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @raj808, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Thanks for the beer token beerlover, I need a curer right about now ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‰

Posted using Partiko Android

Brilliant in a word! I came over from @ddschteinn

Ha ha, cheers for the vote m8.... and thanks for checking out my silly alcoholic onboarding post. Lol, I think I might have enough to buy the barmaid a half pint of beer now ;-)

Thanks again @old-guy-photos :)

Good luck!!! Not enough for a drink yet but here is hoping!!!!

Ha ha, yes fingers crossed ๐Ÿคž๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

Whenever i see gin i think of The Fast Show. Have you ever seen it?

Posted using Partiko Android

"Awwww.. you smell nice.... what's that?....."

"Gin"

"Ahhhhh" ๐Ÿ˜‚

Hell yeah, I know the fast show. I grew up with that and harry enfield and chums. We used to repeat the catch phrases at each other in secondary (highschool) school... check it out!

"That smells nice.... what's it cooked in?"

"Eau de Cologne, I had a little accident." ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚

EXACTLY. That one is our fave.

So EVERYTIME one of us says: oooh you smell nice.. the other says... GIN.

Best. Skit. Ever.

Posted using Partiko Android

Now that's a vote well worth a vote. I'm hoping you can get her a whopping big gin, or whatever she might want. (Make it beer, and you can get her 4, and we're practically guaranteed to get a new Steemitian.) Such a grand cause . And a great way to do a NON shite post. I think it's a fun idea. And if she wont' join, maybe you can at least get a second date next weekend to the movies ( :

Good luck, hope more folks partake in the little green upwards arrow and it's a large success. Cheers on a Saturday night when I really should be in bed, but am messing about on this box.

There once was a barmaid named BLANK,
convinced for all time Steemit stank.
But a bet on a whim,
for a large dram of gin,
and now Steem she shall take to the bank.

(I just realized you did give her name, but it's too late to re-work my limerick, or whatever it is, with "Beth", so it shall remain as-such. Cheers)

Ha ha, cheers for the Limerick dude, love it! I've followed you back and thanks for the upvote to try and help convince a lovely young lady to join us here on steem.

Yes, I think she will want a gin but I'm gonna be a cheap ass and get her a single g+t, well at least as the bet drink from this post payout ๐Ÿ˜‚

Still a ways to go as they're not cheap in that pub cause it's a gin speciality bar..... Why do I always go for the ones with expensive tastes ๐Ÿธ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜‰

Posted using Partiko Android

Going cheap is always good. And as for going for the gold in all things in life, why not, you can always settle for pot metal, if you strike out. I was thinking of doing one of my Schteinn Report's on this post of yours, to give it a bit more exposure (all 20-30 of my friends on here ( :

I'm pretty much a small fish, but I suppose every little bit helps, and I LOVE these sorts of daily projects of humor in life. And I'm rooting for great success in the gin/barmaid/Steemit endeavour.

Just making sure it's OK with you, I always ask, before putting a Post out with other folks work in it. Photo and link and poetry/limerick?, discussion (often T.I.C.), stuff like that---whatever shakes out in the end. Just thought I'd check. Cheers
Example: Christmas Party Report

thinking of doing one of my Schteinn Report's on this post of yours, to give it a bit more exposure.

Yeah mate, feel free ๐Ÿ™‚ I appreciate it! Be sure to tag me in so I can slam it with my upvote and resteem your post as well. Lol, I think the biggest drawback of the way the mechanics of steem work is that posts only really have a few hours where an accounts followers will see it until it gets lost in the noise. Although it's not as bad as it was in late 2017 when steem was so busy.

Anyway, thanks again and I'm absolutely cool with you writing about my crazy onboarding missions ๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

Upvote from me! What is everyone waiting for? Let's buy the lady a drink. Great way of promoting steem and there are a lot of good stories about it to tell. Would require a lot of drinks though. Cheers!

He he, thanks for the upvote m8. I only did this as a bit of fun but it would be nice if it works out and I onboard someone.

I've just realised that I forgot to share it on twitter so maybe that will push the promotion a bit further ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ‘

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04