You Are Not Alone ๐Ÿงš๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ’›

in #partiko โ€ข 4 years ago (edited)
Sort: ย 

One of the big lies of a mental illness is one's own mind saying "you are the only one like this." When I had postpartum depression I was so thankful for the ladies at church who got me to the help I needed at the time. Now I am the old woman who tells others they can come to me and not be judged, because I have been there--in the abyss--and I survived.

Thank you so much for sharing this & yes,when one has been through it, you tend to think you're the "only one" & the mind is a tricky thing. I am glad you had the support during that time. It makes all the difference in the world. โ™ฅ๏ธโ™ฅ๏ธ

Oh my, as I'm reading this I have tears streaming down my face. As i am a mother of 3 children that struggle with depression and anxiety. Their depression and anxiety kept manifesting in physical pain. It was always attributed to football or skateboarding... they never received a correct diagnosis until their late teens. I have been guilty of telling them they were overreacting. It has taken me years of self reflection and education to truly understand what they were silently going through. I have been guilty of saying, "Why couldn't you just tell me?" When I finally realized sometimes there are just no words for what your mind is putting you through. You are strong. Thank you for sharing your story. It's only through sharing and talking that we can all begin to have true compassion for one another.

Aww Jenn. I never meant to make you cry ๐Ÿ’› You do understand in your own way. It is easy for people not to when they don't see what's going on. It's not tangible as the physical symptoms are. Definitely do give yourself grace, because we all learn from experience or from others in sharing. I used to never have these issues but that was mostly because I wasn't facing the things I needed to. It's different for everyone.

You and your kids are strong as well. Life is definitely a journey & a learning one at that. You are a very compassionate person from what I already know about you. โ™ฅ๏ธ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’—

May the rest of your day be peaceful and you are able to take a deep breath and cuddle up with Timmy for a good nights sleep.

Thank you so much Randy. You have such a kind heart. Sending pixie dust & blessings your way ๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿงš๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ

I'm not a super-hero, but if you need someone around, you know where you can find me...

Today is a better day!

One doesn't have to fly or leap buildings in a single bound to be a super hero ;) And thank you...that means more than you know!

And yes, today IS a better day!

That's awesome to hear! Tomorrow will be even better :)

Thanks a lot for sharing this Pixie, and I hope you know that I am here for you, and great of Randy to suggest the help of Timmy, he is a very special cat, stay awesome.

Thank you so much Erik. You and the others have been so kind. Timmy did curl up with me right in my arms & purred me to sleep. It's amazing the healing power he has. He's definitely a guardian angel. โ™ฅ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ™

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71