You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do people get too offended to easily ???

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

I tend to agree with you here, especially when comes to politics and comedy. Politics especially in the US have become so divided and partisan that it can be hard to have a civil conversation with someone who disagrees with you. The conversation will often turn into a tension filled argument.
I also agree that there indeed should be a line as far as saying truely hurtful, bigoted, or racist jokes, however comedy is the truest form of social commentary of any times and generally should not be censored. It would be hard to imagine that a movie like Blazing Sadles for example would be made today, yet it is a really well done and funny movie that is ultimately in my opinion the kind of social commentary that changes people's opinions through laughter for the better.
One of my all time favorite comedians is George Carlin, if you're not familiar please look him up. His comedy has shape a lot of my opinions over the years, yet is someone who would probably deal with a huge amount of blowback if was still around today.
#up-gage

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your feedback and yes I feel everywhere is so divided too comedy should be a freedom of speech after all it’s all to make people happy and laugh everyone should enjoy it. And I haven’t heard of that comedian. My personal favs are Robin Williams and lee Evans. I will check out George Carlin later thank you 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're welcome! Carlin started in comedy around the same time as Robin Williams I think, and was still doing stand-up until 2007 when he passed. I also love comedy, but am not familiar with Lee Evans so I will have to look him up. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39