RANDOM THOUGHTS

in #partiko5 years ago

I have sold about 100steem in the last 7days (proceeds from my steemmonster cards) and might sell some more. Planning on powering down for the first time. I need to to get a mic for making my dtube videos. I have been struggling to get good audio quality on my videos.

'People can forgive poor video quality, but they will never forgive poor audio quality.'

I plan to take vlogging very serious and I want to start getting the basic gadgets to help me make quality videos. I think what I am trying to say here is that everything I do with my earnings revolves around steem. Whatever I take out comes back here in some way.

Starting small

So if you've been watching my videos lately you would know about my new found love for videography. This all started out as an experiment and it has turned into a passion. A passion to explore a new creative side; a passion to improve on my video content; a passion that might cost me $700 I do not have.

Well I have decided to take things slow. I really cannot afford to get the cannon m50 I so desire now. It's a lofty goal and really not feasible at this point. So I am starting small.

So I watched a YouTube video yesterday and it was basically about how one can get basic video equipments for $75. A tripod, mic and some decent lighting, which is pretty cool because this is something I can try to get before the end of February and it will drastically improve the quality of my videos.

Content quality

Like I have said severally times I'm not so comfortable in front of a camera. However I have seen some form of improvement in my delivery. I believe if I am less spontaneous and plan my videos just a little I will achieve the required effect I want.

Lastly, I plan to start a fundraising campaign suggested by @newageinv to get a camera for the documentary I plan on making. But if everything goes as planned, I might not need to this but I do not want to put all my hopes in one basket. And to be quite honest, if I did have $600 for the said camera I would rather invest it in Steen.

Never say never

I never thought I would be selling my steem at this point but I have done so out of desperation. $10-$20 might not mean much some people here but it can do some basic things for me, so...

How do you reward yourself?

There are some steemians who haven't taken a penny from their earnings here and they put so much work into building their account(s). It's an unusual feat and I most commend them. But, and this is a very big but, given the time and effort some of you put on here, don't you think it's a little too idealistic hoping to cash-out on steem when it moons? What if that never happens? Will you keep piling steem?

Like I have said before, we are all here for different reasons. Some hope to become crypto rich; some are saving their steem as aform of retirement fund. Personally I'm not so futuristic in my approach now. I'm not trying to become crypto rich neither I am saving my for future purposes. Steem, for me, is present. I want to be able to use and save my steem--I can do both. Most people do not necessary need the income they make here but I do. One of the thoughts that haunts me every time I exchange my steem for fiat is that I am exchanging something precious for peanuts. I'm probably going to be one of those people, sometime in the future, who would beat themselves up for selling at this ridiculous price. But I do so out of necessity and I have come to terms with that.

Well this is all the randomness I can afford today. I have been making video and in about 2-3 hours I would be uploading one. So watch out.

©nonsowrites

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I wish you weren't so far away, I'd just send you a mic.. I've got tons of them. But sending to Africa would cost 10x the price of it. hehe. I'm looking forward to checking out your vlogs with enhaced audio! :)

Thanks a lot. It isn't that expensive here. With $10 I can get one. So when I power down I would use my first week withdrawal to purchase one then cancel. The next thing is to get a better phone, which I am hoping to purchase before the end of February.
Little steps.

Posted using Partiko Android

Selling is part of the process. A lot of times, getting over the fear of selling (due to FOMO) is necessary for you to become more clear headed. HODLing can be a form of poverty mindset because you are too attached to the future potential so you don't take action now. That is why I never sold BTC or anything when the price was much higher. You need to develop a bigger abundance mindset where it doesn't even matter if you lose money by selling, because you have enough value and skills to earn that money in another way. You don't need to put everything into hoping that Steem moons one day.

Nowadays, I use my Samsung smartphone to record my vlogs and plug in a Rode SmartLav+ into it to record videos. I used to use a Sony a6300 to vlog but it is such a pain in the ass to hold up to your face and sync the audio. Now, I only use that camera for b-roll. Face shots are done with a smartphone which is good. I recommend the smartlav+ because you can easily plug it in and the audio quality is really good.

You need to develop a bigger abundance mindset where it doesn't even matter if you lose money by selling, because you have enough value and skills to earn that money in another way. You don't need to put everything into hoping that Steem moons one day.

This resonants with me. The fact that steem is a coin that allows one to make more steem (coins) is one of the best things about this crypto. And basically it's about improvement, if my earnings can help me get better equipments that allow me do what I enjoy doing then it is a plus for me.

I will check out the mic you suggested. Thanks for the tip.

Posted using Partiko Android

Circumstances are always different for each of use. One of the great things abkut crypto in general is the ability to have it easily available for those today that are excluded from traditional financial markets and seeing your thoughts make me feel like crypto and Steem is serving its purpose in providing these opportunities. Look forward to seeing you engage in this newfound passion my friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Look forward to seeing you engage in this newfound passion my friend!

Thank you very much. I also hope to improve on the quality of my videos and contents as time goes by.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nonsowrites from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10