Using @partiko in Windows

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

If you're a huge @partiko fan like me but are frustrated at not to be able to use it on your Windows PC, fear not. I'm here to show you how!

In my first ever 'Dummies Guide', and in this case means written by a dummy (me) for infinitely more intelligent people like you guys are, We are going to create our first @partiko post on a regular Windows PC.

Firstly, go here and download and set up 'Bluestacks' on your PC. Bluestacks is an Android emulator that basically just err, allows your PC to run Android Apps. You login using your Google ID as normal and away you go. You can even play Candy crush I guess, the full Play Store is at your disposal.

Anyway, once you have Bluestacks set up and registered, you go to the Play Store and download @partiko.

Now to be able to use photos, you will also need to download 'Photos' as don't forget, Bluestacks is emulating an additional Android device on your PC so you cant just cut and paste from Windows into Android Apps on Bluestacks!

Login using Steemconnect and thats it. Off you go :-)

Now admittedly, its a bit slow at first and uses a lot of your PC's system resources, but it works. So no excuses not to use your favourite DApp on the desktop as well as on mobile!!

There you have it. Like I said. It's a bit faffy and the only ability to post being in portrait is a scrolly nightmare, but this is more of a 'proof of concept' (he said, sounding like he knew what he was talking about!!) and it works, but until Sida gets off his backside and gives us a native Win App, its all we have!

What does that boy do with his time ? tut tut

Hopefully you will now see :- POSTED by @partiko as I'm about to hit 'POST' !!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Any idea how to use it in Ubuntu?

There was something a couple of years ago called Anbox but Ive never tried it and dont know if its still supported but there was a growing userbase ar one time!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for making this post! This is really genius!

Posted using Partiko Android

I wonder if in the future if your able to make windows/Mac client or will it just be tied to mobile platforms.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Been meaning to write one of these up for a while now 😅

Thank you my friend, great contribution!

I hope to oneday see a desktop version of Partiko along with landscape mode for iPad.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good point about landscape. Something Id like to see to as Im also a tablet user!

I think the landscape mode would make better use of the PC screen also 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have used bluestacks , more accurately tried to use it in my laptop but experience wasn't good. It was very slow.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow !
thanks ! ♥

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh ya! I always use desktop because I prefer a wider screen. Thanks for this trick!

You won't thank me if you try it mate, its a bit of a painful process at first !

Thanks for sharing this about how to play with @partiko on PC this has extended to other Android apps. I love partiko

Brilliant Brother. I just came to partiko this morning to ask this very question. Will there be a web based version for PC. And here is your article right at the top. Sometimes the universe just gets it right and provides us with the answer we seek. Looks like a great work around untill we get Partiko PC 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

How about for Mac 😢
I was thinking this as well
And here it is but not quite

But yay for pc users 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75