Different techniques - similar results

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

When I saw @shanibeer's post with the photo of the christmassy tea cosy I thought of a cowl I made two years ago. The 'scales' just looked like those of my cowl. But then I saw the tag - that was crocheted? I immediately took a look at the pattern to see how it was done. I never heard the term 'crocodile stitch' before.

Because my cowl was knitted. It was my first project that wasn't plain knitting but had a pattern with yarn overs and k2tog. I learned a lot knitting it but several times I was deeply distressed. Without the help of the owner of the local yarn shop I never would have finished the cowl.

This pattern is aptly named: 'Teufelszwirn' means something like 'the devil's twine' and the first half of the projects I thought only a devil could have thought out that pattern. Why? Well, you knit from the other side - this is the "wrong" side. It's difficult to get a picture in your head of why you do what. I plan to do the cowl again now that I learned more about knitting. Though @shanibeer's cosy is really nice, too.

Isn't it interesting how different needlework techniques can have results that resemble each other so much? I love these things, like the crochet slip stitch I wrote about two weeks ago that looks like knitted ribbing :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Ha ha, the devil's twine - I can believe it! The pattern looks so pretty and innocent in those colours as well 😎. It looks interesting, though. The crocodile stitch is quite complex until you get the hang of it as you have to make a framework with each round to build the scales on. I think I made three or four attempts at the beginning to understand the pattern and then get the size right, so I can sympathise. But I am starting to imagine how the devil's twine works ... 😱

Such a pretty piece, I can totally imagine how much of a pain it must have been to work on!

I like the texture of the stitch, @muscara. I wonder whether it uses as much yarn as the crocheted version.
Incidentally, I once ruined my hard work by washing mine in the washing machine... it never regained the shape 😱

It takes some yarn but not that much. The pattern calls for about 100 g of fingering weight yarn. My version is more narrow and shorter, the kitchen scale says 90g and I used a sports weight yarn. Here's the link to the pattern and a photo of the inner side which is the side you're looking at while knitting :)

https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/loop-teufelszwirn

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks beautiful and it reminded me of this one, @muscara :D
http://knitty.com/ISSUEw15/PATTtree/PATTtree.php

Although I don't think it's the same stitch.

I just took a dive into my stash - no yarn for that tree-cowl :( Only white and a yellow-red gradient, not the right colors. It seems I have to buy some yarn for it ;)

I think the crocodile stitch is so uniquely pretty! I have yet to try it! Your cowl is so petty! Wow those colors are gorgeous! You did really well especially for it to be your first complicated project. I loved @shanibeer’s cosy too!

I think I feel slightly nauseated while looking at this cowl and imagining that it is knitted - oh je. It looks beautiful, but I can imagine, that it is super complicated to make. The colors alone are amazing.

very frightening title :))) looks bright and fun

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Hypatia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93