On 2018 Partiko's Thanksgiving Day Promotion Campaign

in #partiko6 years ago

First of all, THANK YOU to all kind steemians who included me into the persons who should receive a Thanks message using new Partiko Mesaging service.

However I am not going to participate.

I don't know if I said here that I am a noahide. For those who don't know, that means that I am something like a "no-Jewish" but that still desires to accomplish with those 7 mandates G-d tell Noah after the flood. As a noahide I am banned to celebrate most Jewish celebrations. I something more than 1 week there is one of the few I am able to: hannukah.

As a noahide I should not -although not banned from- celebrate any non-Jewish celebration. Yeah, that means I cannot celebrate Christmas.

About Thanksgiving Day, there is a split between those who accept it as a secular event and those who still remember the Christian origins. Those who are on the "secular event" group do it because of it being a custom party and a great event which mostly removed all religious connotations. They also celebrate it because being it a huge American event.

I cannot celebrate it because I cannot be part of any of those groups: I am not a religious person -not Christian- and I am not American -nor German, Brazilian or, sadly, Japanese-. As I am free -of course I am, as I could also celebrate Christmas, always under my own responsability- to celebrate it and I don't feel that I should as I have never being exposed to said celebration as I have not lived in any of those countries -again, sad, not being in Japan- I choose not to.

Of course, everyone else is free to do it, even participate in this Partiko's campaign, although not being part of the cannon. But I just wanted to express my reasons for no participating.

Sort:  

@javirid, it was interesting to read your point of view. I have read it 2-3 times. Interesting point of view.

Yeah. I have wrote it too much quickly and it is likely I didn't make my point too much clear. Thank you for the effort of trying to understand the post, @cryptospa. Sincerely, as always.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78