You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Centralized Steemit

in #partiko6 years ago

Wouldn't comparing to other crypto projects be an apple to apple comparison ...

Anyone who invests in crypto has the explosive patabolic growth of coins in back of their mind..somewhat different mindset than traditional stock investor..

Sort:  

Yes, but plenty of people are presumably doing that comparison already, and I'm not convinced it makes sense because for example, nobody knows wtf Bitcoin's long term value is going to be (pick a number from 0 to 1 million haha). I'm down for the long term price discovery just by throwing it out there and waiting 10 years to see where it lands, but my comparison here is really just to see if we can evaluate the system in a different way and use that to estimate fundamental value. For example, does the structure proposed, if say it were possible to implement, make sense? It's still not that close to existing social media platform companies.

:thinking:

I invest in traditional internet startups and I have a 30-40x return in mind. Also to make of for the many fails along the road since I actually want 6-8x over around 8 years.

Anything below I can just give funds to a hedge fund manager. Or invest in VC funds.

I like the typo in patabolic though. It sorta explains the utopian mindset... it’s just mash. Mashed patatoes or brains, that I will leave to the crowds.

PS: I am not a trader. I invest long term, I do not trade.

so you are angel investor or series A ...or something like that?

Is that how it’s called?

I think so..for early investors expecting 30-40x one has got to be in on the bottom floor. .

Open to be corrected , since you are the one who has been making such gains. .

I’m indeed very early stage and high risk. Sometimes even capped convertible note early stage, AKA pre-seed.

Yet, I wouldn’t tie it down to a specific round since it all depends on valuation, potential, and of course own financial capability. Often (we aggregate) we will join the next round with follow-on investment as well.

The high target is not because of that “parabolic” dream, it’s to level out the huge number of fails along the road. Otherwise the math just doesn’t work and you’re better investing in an already operational fund (on for example Sandhill Road) or invest in a hedge fund.

Typically I envisage 6-8x across the board but pretty much any average better than 3-4x because that’s available by investing in funds.

Of course, C- and D- rounds often guarantee a much higher financial return since the requirements to join are much higher, but the ROI % is lower. I’m not SoftBank nor Norway though.

The parabolic comment is in context of crypto ecosystem, do you disagree that majority of that crowd is around for the next pump and subsequently cashout ?

There’s a lot of dreamers on this planet. The lottery also always sells more tickets when the prizes have rolled over for some weeks.

So you are angel
Investor or series A
...or something like that?

                 - itstime


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44