Found a Friend For the Day

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

I have not written of this excursion of two weeks ago because I want to get some pics with it from my screwed up laptop.
While doing some amatuer repair work welding on our tractor in the carport. I made a small tack weld, turned around to meet a beautiful snow white Husky dog. Not knowing her name or gender at the time it was friendly, happy and responsive to my talking. I was glad I was positioned between her in the welding project because it is no good to watch any welding with bare eyes and she had a problem with her left eye when we introduced ourselves. I sat down and gave her some attention and wiped her Eye with a wet wipe (baby bottom wipe, ssshush don't tell anyone a tuff guy used them). I looked for a name on her pink flowered collar no luck, maybe she had an ID tatoo in her ear, again no luck. I asked her what her name was and again no luck. Hmmm poor beautiful pooch appeared to be lost. Then I saw a glass contractor 2 doors down measuring my neighbors windows so problem solved, it must be his dog, hah again no luck so I improvised a leash from 1.5 meter ( 5ft.) piece of rope for a leash and took her for a walk for the better part of it she listened, she heeled well and acted with wonderful manors but 200 meters (650 ft.) up the street to the west nobody had claimed her, a car started heading towards us and the dogs ears went up and the car stopped, the dog jumped up and leaning on it, but wait that's my neighbor from 100 meters eastward of my house. Jill my neighbor said the dog came to visit her about 4 hours earlier and it was much the same scenario. Except she had put it in the back yard so she could make some phone calls and go online to neighborhood watch the dog dug under her fence and adopted me. Well after that conversation I though I should feed the pooch something so a little to my cats demay, I used a hand full of whiskas and a half can of the neighbors borrowed dog food. When I was setting it down the dog was patient and sat when asked but it sure didn't last long poor thing had not eaten in a while.

![](
After she ate, she let me know that she didn't want to be locked in the backyard without me. Poor dog was lonely and scared. So all the neighbors pooled together an we got Mika's ( finding out that was her name later) picture and description on neighborhood watch and waited for phone calls, and waited. In this time I tended to her left eye which appeared that it was getting worse and I was worried about that because I had just watched a Veterinarian clinic show on television a week prior and the vet had to surgically remove that poor pooches eye. Thinking I should act on the Mika's behalf I phoned a Vet. Clinic and booked an examination in a couple of hours. In the mean time we talk and played and kept Mika away from Jazzy the neighbors dog and Sparkie Our cantankerous little cat.
At about 4 pm I cover the back seat of my vehicle with an old blanket and she jumped in and sat with the best of behavior, that told me she had been on few car rides before. I also heard of a case in town here where some people were travelling with a big camping trailer and there dog got out while they were fueling in town and they did not discover the dog missing until that evening when they were 400km (250mi.)away in the wilderness lucky for then somebody adopted it for 2 weeks until they saw an add online.
Being a dog lover I tried to do what was best for Mika when we arrived at the vet she was hyper and looked like she wanted to go near the scrubs lucky for me I had stuffed a couple of empty baggies in my pocket.
Any way the Vet looked at her eye and told me, being a pensioner the exam was 20 buck less, but there is some antibiotics Mika will need. Just then the receptionist/ apprentice Vet told us that she had found her home and her name was Mika because she had an electronic chip implant with all life saving profiles recorded. Well maybe I dodged a big Vet bill but the owners were on there way. I lost a great friend in a heartbeat, happy for Mika and her family but disgruntled myself I thought I should say my goodbye which wasn't easy when she put her paw on my knee while I scratched beside her ear. I left my phone number and message with the Vet that I will sit her anytime her family needs to go away.Then I left because tuff guy don't crack up and weap, do they???

Love you Mika where ever you are. Thanks for reading.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

lindo perrito, seguro quiere cambiar de dueño.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 4.10% upvote from us for your 1010 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank You for welcome and support

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99