SOCIAL STIGMA AND WITHDRAWAL FROM SOCIAL CIRCLE

in #partiko6 years ago (edited)

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/gowealth-social-stigma-and-withdrawal-from-social-circle-8da9bxqw-1536752398126.png

The beginning of social stigma.

I am emotionally attached to this topic because it was a personal journey which informed my experience and formed part of character which I battled with for years but I was able to break free.

I know there are people out there that may be facing a similar situation, the good news is behaviour can be learned and unlearned.

Taking a retrospective look at my early childhood. At the age of two I was told that my mum has been taken to the psychiatric hospital that she is mentally unstable. To my tender mind I didn't understand what that means but all I knew was I never saw my mother while growing up.

I sat down waiting for her for hours on that faithful day, she ddint return. Days passed, weeks and even months but she never came back.

On a faithful day, while I was playing with my friends in school, they were all talking about what their mother did for them.
Then one of them innocently asked me a direct question, "What about your mother" .
I was dead silent, I looked at him and started crying, I didn't know what to say afterwards, I left their presence and that was the the day i stopped interacting with my peers.

" If you can understand the situation that led you into self sabotage and doubt , then you have  discovered your way to self confidence  " .

I was asked a question I couldn't answer and I have over the years tried vehemently to avoid been asked the same question, but not any more.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story, I am glad you could get past it.

Thanks for making out time to read it. I do hope it learnt something from it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gowealth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50