Insight in a Story

in #partiko5 years ago

Hello !!

This series of posts will be an insight of how Draticornix Idraya came to be.

Draticornix Idraya was born in 1990, when I was 10 years old. I wrote a story in French (I was 10 at the time) about a military investigation named Milan Noirs. It was a long story, and somewhat it was a mess of one too, I was young back then. Through some read it, and even said it was good, reading it now, I was a little horrified lol.

So starting from this story, when I was just finished, I decided to extract the principal of it which could be resumed to this:

Military people are investigating a murder and gets kidnapped by rebels, but is saved by her commando.

Let's be clear, I had spent hours, and hours, and more hours at the local library to find the books on military ranks, and I had made so many paper spreadsheets of each and every detail of my characters, that even my family wondered if they should worry. Let's pass on that through :P

I begun by doing a drawing, which looked like a potato, and put four lines going to the border of the sheet I took for drawing. Fujiwe was just born! It was rough, had nothing really interesting in it beside a few cross here and there which were basically towns.

I drew a scale, and then picked one of the points as the capital. Then I picked a scale, and began to measure the distance into each point. Going to my local library I found how many meters a troop walked a day, a few days later I had an outline.

Day 1: Ibla - sunny...
Day 2: Camp near Traedoeo ethereal tempest...
Day5: arrived at Myrivias - cloudy..
....
....

And so on, each time I crossed a point, I'd write a date, an event, and I looked outside to see what was the weather like. I recorded different weathers. So that it would be okay. We were before the era of home computers, so no I didn't had all the nifty tools we have today.

Arrived at that point, I stopped caring about the plotline. I gave my attention to the characters. I wrote down their address, who they liked & who they didn't, also I wrote down who they lived near from, the distance & detailed many other things such as their favorite clothes.

For about 5 months, I looked at my comrades at school and recorded their clothings. I was twelve so I couldn't prevent myself from making remarks about how it suited or not to their figure. Which was purely adoslencent lack of tact turned out to be remarks that one of my character, the Alpha Bitch of the school my future main character attended to, would say here and there at random. Turn everything into something useful, that's the nerve of the battle.

I was about fourteen when I had the hundred characters of my first novel nailed down, and properly characterized. Turned out that my social life wasn't very exciting, I spend my whole childhood writing, and preparing for the next book. Ironically, ten years later, I am still outlining that same book, as other ideas came to fuit before this one is ripe.

My next move was to write paragraphs around each of the Day 1, Day 2 signposts of what happened. It wasn't anything very elaborate at that time, it was more or less a mass of raw data put together, a listing.... just one more out of the thousands I've done to put each thing in order in that world.

At school my classmates had begun speaking boy / girls with quite some interest, so I followed the intrigues as they went, and noted the different breakups/makeups/change as well as how long it took to happen. Looking at my story's signposts, I more or less matched them to the happenings in my class. Sorry to all my comrades whom I've found "very interesting" even when they were in tears over a heartache... just know that your tears did serve, so it was not all for nothing. As the years went on, my comrades relationships were deepening and taking some rather physical form, so I also applied that to my characters.

Sixteen - seventeen wasn't all that fruitful in terms of writing that story, mainly because I was having a rather hands-on experience of relationship myself. Still during that period my characters took another depth about how they were related to one another. And I will admit one of my breakups was because I got too curious about how the other side felt during the physical relationship. Turns out that it kills it when you're too questionned, I didn't do that again. I wonder if the guy still doesn't think of me as some alien or the like ^^".

Around eighteen-nineteen, I had a lot of pretty intense experiences at work (part-time works) in a few fast-food chains. Also, it was 1998 - 1999, time at which windows revolutionized my life. I took my years of textbooks, spreadsheats, and such, and I reported all this on files... my first introduction to informatic was to push into the computer a hundred textbooks, it could scare a secretary out of the office, but I was braver than that.

.....
So folks, that close the first era of how "Draticornix Idraya" came to be what it is today and the size of this project too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 5.82% upvote from us for your 710 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Congratulations @djennyfloro! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello appreciated @djennyfloro.

What you are narrating to us sounds by itself, like a great story. The story of your life.

It is amazing how you have dedicated so many years to develop your characters and everything they involve.
Maybe by dedicating so much time to creating them and giving them life, have you abandoned your own existence a little?

The truth is that when so much effort and dedication is devoted to achieving a goal, the result will undoubtedly be brilliant.

All best, Piotr.

Hi @crypto.piotr,

Thank you for this comment. Your comments are always so amazing and thoughtful.

Yeah, I might have a bit abandoned my own life back then. Maybe I was really aloof of all that was happening around me back then.

My family wasn't exactly typical and had its troubles, my grandparents raised me. They took great care of my education, and so I had a gap with my classmate wisdom-wise since most of them were from regular families with parents who didn't involve themselves past the things parents usually teach their kids.

I hope that the result will pay off indeed!
Thank you so very much for dropping by.

Have fun, Djenny.

Thanks for your prompt reply @djennyfloro

Your comments are always so amazing and thoughtful.

I'm trying :) After all Im here to learn and get to know valuable people so asking questions is the best way to reach out to them :)

I hope that the result will pay off indeed!

Fingers crossed :)

I also wanted to make some suggestion.

My impression is, that the hardest part of attracting attention on STEEMIT is the fact, that our audience have very little chance to actually find our publications. Lack of solid notification system is an obvious issue. And regardless how hard I would try - there is very little chance I would find out about your new interesting publications (my feed is just flooded with to many posts).

Please allow me to share some suggestion with you. If you would ever publish content related to blockchain, crypto, artificial intelligence, psychology etc. then perhaps you could simply send me memo with link to that post.

This way not only I would have a chance to read your publication, drop a comment but I will also `upvote it right away with almost 20k SP voting power (I also have almost 10k PAL tokens, which may give you some extra benefits is you're using PALnet.io)

Please let me know what do you think. This surely should sound like a interesting offer :))

Cheers, Piotr

Hey there :)

I do that :) I send you a memo to crypto.piotr whenever my publication is out. I post once a day either about Ark Tribe (like the last post I made) which is all about Steem & Ark Blockchain or about this (Insight of a Story). For now, I only send you in a memo about Insight of a Story, but if you prefer, I can switch to warning you about Ark Tribe publication through a memo, since it fits more your interests.

Hi @djennyfloro

you can always send me memo with link to your publication. Even if I won't read it then at least you will receive strong upvote (with some solid SP, PAL and LEO token staked).

Cheers
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78