Four weddings and a FUNERALsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #partiko6 years ago (edited)

I’ve been making videos, professionally for over 12 years.

(And a bit longer if you count studying for 6 years before that.)

I shoot all sorts. Music videos, live performances, business promos, STEEM videos ;) interviews, sizzle reels, corporates, social media films, awards do’s. LOADS.

See my showreel HERE

In my time I’ve also filmed occasional weddings too, strictly for family or friends though, only four of them to be precise.

But I’ve done a job today which is a new one to me.

Today @radicalpears pointed out that I have literally filmed FOUR WEDDINGS and a FUNERAL.
(Not a bad film too, been a while though)

Yes - today I filmed my first memorial.

Which is a nicer word for funeral.
It begun in a church then moved on to the crematorium and then the wake.

This was a super last minute job and I wasn’t sure what to expect from the day.
Now firstly; is funeral videography a thing?
The answer is I don’t really know, but I’m not sure I’d like to make a living from it (no pun intended, genuinely)

Secondly, there’s nothing quite as off-putting as pointing a camera at a grieving family. I’ve never felt quite so uncomfortable holding a camera as when I was at the crematorium.

Although my lovely host said it’s all fine and to shoot everything.. hey ho.

Even the idea of me being paid to be there felt a little odd.

The idea of the video is for older relatives of the family who live abroad to be able to watch it and feel like they were there. Which is sweet I suppose.

But hey ho, that’s the rock and roll world of a freelance camera-op...

Death metal video with a coffin one day, church with an actual coffin the next.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Heavy. Heavier than any metal video you've done.

This is a keen and true observation.

Blimey... A difficult one for sure...

Indeed.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice 👍 just checked yours showreel, really impressed 😁 would need some private lessons 😁👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha, cheers man!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, what about the film industry? Creating your own Marvel, or whatever you are interested in, "music film video"... Horror movies (funeral videos haha) etc 🤪 I watched the "trailer" above which is pretty cool. Don't know what to say about the funeral, well I guess it was just a "job" 😏

Yeah, it was just a job. A strange one - probably the last of that category, but who knows. Not done anything like it before.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

i can imagine that was an odd one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84