ULOG: Episode 18: A Fun Day at the OfficesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #partiko6 years ago (edited)

Last night I posted my Actifit report right at midnight, which means it counted for today and not yesterday. Oh well. This gives be a chance to try out Partiko.

Most of my activity today was walking around the office. I was first in, so I made us all some coffee. It was a cold, snowy morning, and I was sure a nice hot beverage would be appreciated by all.

Then I got a call that started me down an angry path. It wasn't too bad of a call, the user was having issues getting her scan to email working on the printer. I've addressed this situation many times and can resolve it now in under 5 minutes. But this time no luck. Turns out the city where this printer resides was on a list for security tests. These have failed every time and have caused major problems for the airline every time. Yet they keep doing it!

So I reported it to our networking team to check on this, but they passed it over to the systems team who instead looked at the printer configuration again. Said there was something wrong, made some changes, and guess what? It didn't work. Thankfully it appears they changed it all back at least.

But the level of disregard I've been getting lately has been too much and I had to get out of the office. Thankfully we had a kiosk down at the ticket counter, so I went to take care of that. I took my 2 newer coworkers with me to show them how it's done the long way without the configuration app I wrote (one requested it), and went through every step.

"Wow," he said. "That's a lot of steps the app has to do."

With many changes over the years, my app's processes have had to become more and more complex while at the same time keeping the UI as simple as possible. I learned a lot during this ordeal, including how to code in C#.

Then a walk back to the gates, to our van, back to the hangar, and then get ready to leave.

At home, I made everyone some hot chocolate for dessert, then Aedan and I read his library book on how toilets work. Quite informative! Did you know the entire flush process is passive, and the increase of water in the bowl creates a strong suction in the pipes that sucks it all down? Craziness!

Anyway, that's it for me. I got some of my tax documents in the mail so I can get started on that probably this weekend. Now off to bed. Gonna do a little reading on smart kids with autism. (Hmm... An idea for another post?)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50