ULOG: an Overdue UpdatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone. I've been meaning to post something all week, but I hurt my wrist pretty bad and haven't had the motivation to do so. So here's a recap of my weekend.

The Damage

On Friday my company celebrated its 25th anniversary with a little carnival experience. They had games, prizes, food, and music. Our IT Director cruised around the festivities in an Uncle Sam outfit while riding one of those old bikes with the huge front wheel. I wanted to give it a try, but I didn't ask.

Not long into it, I tried my hand at the hammer game. After a few swings though, I missed and pounded the parking lot hard. My wrist is still hurting from it. Not looking too good either. I took these two pics just before posting. Not sure if you can make out all the bruising.

I've been keeping it in a brace so it can heal without me moving it around too much. I'm told if I can wiggle my fingers, it's not broken. I don't know how factual that is, but I can wiggle them easily enough without much pain at all. Probably more of a guideline than an actual rule...

I'll get it checked out soon, but I have no money to go to a doctor. So I'm just gonna try to take care of it the best I can for now.

Saturday and Sunday were spent playing video games and learning how hard it is to cook with only one hand.

The Party

But things got better. Tuesday was Aedan's birthday, and we celebrated at Grandma's house. Zara's brother was there too. He got Aedan a cool air powered rocket.

And much of my family pitched in to get him that beast of a Lego set. Oh man, he was so excited! He tore the paper off and yelled "YES! I KNEW IT! I KNEW IT! I KNEW IT!"

He had to wait until we got home before he could open it, and open it he did as soon as we got everything inside.

At a whopping 24 bags of over 2000 pieces and an age recommendation of 12 + (he pointed out), this newly-made 9-year-old set to work. He was only able to get through 3 bags before bed time though.

Current Day

Today my boss made hotdogs for lunch to celebrate the coming holiday while we were all in. I think I had 4 chili dogs. Ugh, don't think I'm eating that many again. Then we went to walk the concourse where he broke some exciting news. Paperwork has been filed with hr to get me a promotion! We'll see what happens over the next month, but I'm hoping for awesome things!

After that when I got home, Aedan was working on bag 13! This kid is gonna be finished by tomorrow for sure!

Oh, and he wouldn't let me help. He wants to do it all on his own.

Tomorrow

Tomorrow our town is having a day-long 4th of July celebration starting with a pancake breakfast and ending with - of course - a fireworks show. It'll be another carnival-like event throughout the day with a mechanical bull, bouncy houses, trampolines, a train ride, shops, and a firetruck-powered slip and slide down a hill!

It's after 1am now, so I think I'll be sleeping through the pancake breakfast. But it'll be a sunburning great time. Hope I can remember to grab pics and post about it!

Good night!

P.S. - oh! How could I forget? Here's Aedan's awesome birthday cake!

The name plate is a thin piece of chocolate too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

So sorry to hear about your injury, but i known in due time with treatment you will get healed, am sure you had a great time during the celebration.

See you around soonest.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79