You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Women-spreading

in #partiko5 years ago

Wow, do I love this post. At the risk of irritating my fellow Steemians (I restrict my political statements to Twitter), a few words, possibly unwelcome, about this piece:

Anatomical distinctions aside, girls like to sit with their legs spread also. But, from a very early age they are instructed by their mothers to keep their legs closed. I'm not sure if open legs are seen as a symbolic invitation to all male comers, or if closing legs is meant to be a protective posture. Girls are taught that ladies do not sit with their legs 'spread'.

And look at those feet. If there was ever an emphatic statement, it is the size of those feet. This woman is anchored. She has literally put her foot down and will not be dislodged. This, of course, is the way many women experience the man spread on a public conveyance. It is not only an unattractive view from across the way, but it is a space grabber. There seems to be no awareness that the spread extends into someone else's private space.

And, let me take issue with your statement that posture is determined by gender. No more true than is career choice or the inclination to smile. There may be a gender component, but these are essentially culturally determined.

You may disagree with me on all counts, but I've lived in a female body for 72 years, so I have a little experience with the issue.

I love your art blogs, @mathowl.

Sort:  

I actually was trying to find a reliable research work on the topic of gender culture correlation to posture. But apparently all the stuff out there is for really small test groups

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a great research topic. Thank you...the research beast in me is intrigued. If you don't mind, I'll get back to you.

Edit: I just upvoted my own comment! Every now and then I throw a vote away like that accidentally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45