Sort:  

I'm glad to see Korea still has a few of these traditional markets around. We need to shift away from supermarkets to protect the environment.

Posted using Partiko Android

The supermarket is a bastion of evil. I do patronize supermarkets but I am not a happy shopper. Glad you understand.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy abitcoinskeptic! Great photos here and the market looks very interesting, I bet the food and products are excellent! What type of plants do you grow? I mean you have a large garden?

Hell Janton. My garden about 500 square feet. Now I'm growing leafy vegetables like lettuce and cabbage, herbs, peas, and spring onions. In a couple more weeks I will plant other vegetables, mostly tomatoes and peppers. I'll probably write about it again in a week or so and include pictures.

howdy again abitcoinskeptic! wow, you must either have a green thumb or very rich soil over there! That's really cool and I guess that means you grow most of your own vegetables?

I can't actually grow enough vegetables for the entire year. I would probably need 3x the land and then I would have to preserve and dry so much for the winters or cover some of it.
I do grow enough to not have to buy much at all from may through november with plenty to trade for things Ibdont grow. Also it exposes me to a large group of people who know where to get properly safe grown food.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy again abitcoinskeptic! Well that sounds really good. Are the commercial growers in Korea using pesticides and Round Up and such things like they do in the United States?

Round up isn't very common for vegetables. However it's used for cereal crops like rice. They cover the vegetable rows with black vinyl which reduces weeds and evaporation and increases soip temperate in the spring and fall but creates waste.
Pesticides are usually sprayed by hand which is nasty work but makes for more careful and targeted applications.
Organic farming exists like everywhere else, but the yeilds aren't enough compared to land prices or population density to make it a viable option for most commercial farmers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy abitcoinskeptic! wow that's some great information, thank you! Well if organic farming isn't a viable option then the commercial farmers will never change. That's depressing. there has to be an answer to this huge problem.

You got a 14.86% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @abitcoinskeptic! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44