What this Place is All About

The Obvious

#hiveisalive, and I support this new blockchain, and the community that is coming along with it! The circumstances making it necessary are a shame, but further decentralization is the necessary response to both recent events and apparently some longer-term issues, which I frankly didn't pay sufficient attention to.

Excuses

I've been a very inactive contributor of content, and a very inactive curator. I focus a lot of my time on my customers through my work as a software consultant. I've maintained that focus through all the changes affecting the Steem community. Actually, a look through my posts since I joined in 2016 shows this isn't merely recent history. I never fully understood the mechanics or implications of curating, voting for Witnesses, and many other things; I let these hinder my participation. I allowed work to consume almost all my time.

The Plan

  1. Think (this I do; perhaps, sometimes, too much)
  2. Write
  3. Read
  4. Curate
  5. Comment

You've every right to say, "Well, duh; that's what this place is all about!" But, what's important is why anyone in the community doesn't do one or more of the actions listed above. That's where I've got some self-examination to do. Not fretful navel-gazing, but the pursuit of useful self-knowledge, the kind that benefits oneself, as well as the others one interacts with. The better we understand ourselves, the better we understand others, the better we face what motivates us as individuals and groups, the better we listen to each other and get along and - literally - make the world better.

Well, duh; that's what this place is all about!

And isn't that far more important that any financial reward you might get from participating?

The Plan, Restated

  1. Consider, ponder, contemplate, deliberate
  2. Share, offer, help, explain, mentor
  3. Learn! Grow!
  4. Examine, weigh, judge, support, caution
  5. Engage, voice, debate, see all of the above

I've got a lot of catching up to do. I take a few things going on right now, along with this new blockchain, as a starting point, a place to step out, with purpose. And I really look forward to participating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34