Sort:  

I agree, people don't realize that Lewis Carroll did the same thing with Alice in Wonderland in reference to the Monarchy. I wrote my thesis paper for graduation on the subliminal messaging in Alice in Wonderland because I felt like Orwell didn't even need to or try to hide his message.

One thing that still bugs me, is the fact that even when the book became a best seller and lots of people read it, I think the effect now is way greater than back then. Why do you think that was. Social comfort, different times, beliefs, thoughts?

Speaking about Orwell or Carroll? People assumed Orwell was just writing "science fiction." Carroll on the other hand had to intentionally hide his ideas in a "children's book" because he would have been murdered for telling the truth about the oppression of the monarchy.

Well, my thoughts are that first and foremost, he was a talented writer that people read for "entertainment," and didn't take his warnings seriously. The thing about awareness and enlightenment are that people have to want to discover the truth for themselves. Most people are too concerned with a mundane life of buying shit they don't need with money that they don't have and never stop to consider the fact that it's modern day slavery. You are stuck paying for interest, which is just money that is being created out of thin air for allowing someone the privilege of using money, and people get caught up overworking themselves in jobs that they have no passion for to pay for this never ending cycle of bullshit. In short, I guess people were just too busy being sheep to take him seriously.

Wow. Yours is a mind blowing analysis. I thank you for replying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52