You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not All Cops Should Be Cops....

i've been wanting to give him the benefit of the doubt too. You just don't know what was going on in his head.. The big problem as I see it is that too many people, watch action movies and cannot separate the movies from reality. They think its easy and that they'd just jump into action and be a hero like in the movies.

Sort:  

You're exactly right! It takes a special person to want to run towards gun fire or confront a madman with a high-powered rifle. But if you're not willing to accept that responsibility or don't think that you would be capable of doing that then you don't need to pin that badge on imho.

I just found this article about it:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-43202800

I think Trump's comments perfectly illustrate my point... he would have run towards the gunfire even if he was unarmed? give me a break. Also, what do you think of the officer's explanation of his actions in the article? To me it sounds perfectly reasonable .. but then I'm no law enforcement professional, so I wouldn't really know.

Thanks for the article, it does help the officer's reasoning for taking the initial stance and I could see that if it was only one or two shots fired and he had trouble determining where they were coming from. But it's hard for me to believe that after so many shots being fired and probably people screaming, that he couldn't determine the general location. I may be wrong and I hope I am. Also, a gunshot inside of a building sounds completely different than a shot fired outdoors.

As far as the comment Trump made, that's exactly what I was talking about also.

Thanks, it will be interesting to see if the story develops further, though the last thing i think schools need are to lose faith in their SROs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44