In Addition to the River Seine, there is a Second River in ParissteemCreated with Sketch.

in #paris7 years ago (edited)

If you have ever visited Paris, you may be surprised that there is a second river that flows in Paris.

Most people knows that the river Seine flows in Paris. There is another river?
Nobody living has seen this river in Paris.


river_Seine_Paris.jpg
The Seine in Paris
source

So, where is this famous second river?

The Bièvre

The name of the river is Bièvre.
It is long of 33 km. It has its source in the commune of Guyancourt and flows into thirteen other communes before entering in Paris through the 14th, 5th, 13th and 12th arrondissements of Paris and then flows into the Seine. One of the communes it flows in has almost the same name as the river: Bièvres.

The reason why nobody living has seen this river in Paris is that starting in the commune of Fresnes it is entirely underground, as it has been canalized under slabs and 5 km have disappeared under rubble and urbanization in Paris.

The name Bièvre come from the Gaulish word bibero, that gave the word bièvre in Old French, meaning "beaver". The word in modern French is "castor".
So, the Bièvre is the "Beaver River".


carte_cassini_tronque.gif
Old Map of the River Bièvre
source

I have been living in Fresnes for several years, starting in 1996. For two years, I was working in Arcueil, another commune where the Bièvre flows, but I did not realize that there was a river along the route I was taking to go to school.

Historically the river was heavily industrialized with mills, which led to the straightening of the river. Tanneries, butcher shops and dye-makers were built along its banks, leading to serious pollution concerns. Starting in the 18th century, the river was gradually culverted. [Wikipedia]


Tanneries_Bievre.jpg
Tanneries on the River Bièvre in Paris at the end of the XIXth Century
source

However, at the beginning of the XXth century, there were still visible parts of the river.


Un_coin_pittoresque_de_la_Bièvre.jpg
The River Bièvre in Paris around 1900
source

So, because the river Bièvre is now completely underground in Paris, do not look for the second river in the French capital!



Sort:  

When I was 20 I visited a girl in France. I was too young (and too poor) to fully enjoy it. I actually stayed with her in the town of Bièvre. I had forgotten that was the name of the town until this post. Thanks for the walk down memory lane!

You are welcome.

The name of the town is Bièvres, with an S.

Ahh! Thank you.

Interesting! :) At present(at least in NY) there are some projects to re-expose urban underground streams;they are called "daylighting" projects. They are fantastically expensive however because of real estate costs...
I wonder where the tanneries were sourcing their tannic acid...oak trees perhaps?

Interesting story. I learned something new today. As every day here on steemit. Thanks.

You are welcome.

That's for the info, really cool photos!

Indeed, but they are not mine.

Oh a hidden gem in Paris. That's a cool name for a river, Beaver River. ( ^◡^)

Yes, it is a cool name: la rivière des castors.

That is completely fascinating. I have been in Paris a few times and like most tourists had no idea of this. I am always intrigued by the hidden rivers and tunnels which often criss cross our cities!

It is not only the tourists that have no idea, but almost all the French people and the vast majority of the Parisians.

I was unfortunately not in Paris, but my wife would like to go there. Since I can then look for the river while she goes shopping :-)

You can always try, but I don't think you will succeed.
Your wife will think you are crazy:

  • Darling, while you are shopping, I will look for an underground river.

[Yeah, Suure!]

lol.....Yes that would be possible

Paris is my dream city, want visit there oneday.

crazy. The secret underground river. I learn something new everyday! Thanks for sharing.

Very cool!
I would love to check out Paris one of these days!
I really like the historic shots :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51