I've seen a lot of my Christian friends upset with pagan imagery at the Olympics.

in #paris2 months ago

1000041561.jpg

I really don't mean to be flippant or something with the question, but I don't know how else to ask it. Hasn't the worship of pagan Gods been part and parcel of the Olympics since before Christianity was even a religion?

Like... when one thinks of the Olympics, one of the first things to come to mind is that it was a religious festival for pagans. It's literally named after Mount Olympus, home of the Gods, the games themselves were meant as offerings and sacrifices to them, all that stuff.

Like.. I know that's not the draw anymore or whatever, but everybody realizes that that's essential to the heritage of the thing and how it became popular, yeah? If I remember right they were outlawed for quite a bit when Christians came to power because their status as a religious festival was well known.

I haven't seen the ceremony, I haven't watched the Olympics in decades, and the history of the Olympics is something I haven't been taught since middle school (early 90s). But really, what am I missing exactly that makes a callback to it's roots offensive? Or was there something other than pagan imagery that they were touching on that involved ridicule of non-pagan religions?

I mean it as a serious question, because I've got smart Christian friends who seem genuinely offended and idgi. Not trying to call y'all wrong for being offended and I really am just trying to understand the rationale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62504.18
ETH 2430.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60