The joys of parenting

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

At what point do you laugh?

Our stroke of luck, started a couple of weeks ago, when my toddler had a high fever and was sent home with antibiotics for tonsillitis.

Just about when he finished his course of the controversial drug, my daughter complained of sore throat and fever and received the same diagnosis.

Then, last Sunday she decided to jump of her top bunk- on to my queen bed down below.
I have told her many times not to do it- but she did anyway.
Failing to take note of the ceiling fan, spinning away.

“Luckily” she “only” received a nice cut, which was glued together after a 5 hour stint at the emergency department.

On Friday, I started feeling like my throat was exploding.
I made it through work and dragged myself to the doctor.

Sure enough it was strep throat and I got sent home with antibiotics.
The pain was bad, especially while eating and I felt all my body wanted me to do was rest.

So I did- hoping I would be good enough to drive my daughter to her grandma on Sunday, who lives a 1 hour drive seaside.

I felt elated to wake up feeling better today and delighted in watching my little girl preparing her bag for the visit.

We were driving along the country roads when I looked in the rear mirror and saw my toddler had spewed all over himself.

I was well aware, that we had a tummy bug going around at work (daycare) and with the children’s grandmother preparing for her big trip to India, we didn’t have a choice but to turn the car around.

My little girl was heartbroken, crying the whole way home. (We were over half way....)

We spent the afternoon in the bedroom- with my little guy not being sick again. There was hope that it could have been a case of car sickness....

However, before I went to sleep I was felt the familiar churning in my gut-announcing the virus had made it’s way through my already weak immune system.

There was a moment, when I was handing my soul over to the porcelain gods, as I looked at my toddler who sat on the bathroom floor also emptying his contents, where I smiled because of the absurdity of it all.

Let’s hope that this is the last chapter of the sickness book- let’s hope that tonight is manageable with only my son and me retching away.

The strengths us parents pocess to pick up our toddler after a bout of sickness and providing them with the care they need, is incredible.

My kids, have taught me many times that there are infinite resources within me, that will be my alley, if I only choose to stay away from wallowing in self pity.

As I smile through my activated charcoal coloured teeth, waiting for the next wave to hit me- I know one thing for certain “this too shall pass”.

44D1C4FD-2AB3-4620-83C6-F55CE89CB7AF.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64278.20
ETH 3493.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55