A Father's Lesson

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

For five years now, I have had the best daughter in the world. My world, her world.

For a long time I was sure, positive, that I had little to teach. I didn't know where to begin. I was tied up and wrung around, wrapped up in working hard.

I went through the motions.

One day, I found myself wandering down paths of thought. Thoughts about fatherhood, about how my daughter saw the world. About what I could do, what I thought best to learn.

Really, what I fell on wasn't what I expected.

I found what I should have learned. What I could improve on, and through learning it better, I could teach my daughter.

Here are the Three Lessons I began to teach.

#1 Pay Attention
We truly learn, only what we pay attention to. In any moment there are inifite things to pay attention to, but what you are doing. How you are doing it, and what you are paying attention to. Attention is a thing, it is given and when forced, is latent with disdain. What we give our attention to, is what we give our time and our life to. This rule is an idea to heed where attention goes.

#2 Be Afraid and Do It Anyway
This is so simple, yet incredibly difficult. To first pay attention to your fear, so that when seen, can be worked through. Because, fear, is one heck of a fighter. It will rear and flail in an instant. Or it can creep in slow. We react either out of fear or not. I was always afraid to voice up, to speak out and be heard. To find a practice that could lead beyond these would be to do whatever it is inspite of the fear.
Naturally, a want of recognizing when to apply this is important. (I wouldn't want her trying to fly off the porch telling herself to be afraid and do it anyway.) So real understanding of rule #1 plus common sense of self-protection is inherently needed.

#3 Do It With All Your Might
To be able to look back at whatever it was, and say 'I did the BEST I could'. No matter the thing, go all the way, swing for the fences.

We have one life, live.

We are both still working with these rules, every day, and I have found that it has helps to foster a growing relationship of understanding between us.

I would love to hear thoughts and ideas, what are your rules? What would you use instead?

#writerofage20180412_171324.jpg

Sort:  

I would have liked to see you end of this article with some information about the effect of what you chose, on your daughter. Is she even interested in what you want to teach her? If not, did you forget to make it interesting for a child and for someone of her personality? Something between a game and as evidence of her being a big girl now?

A pity nobody else has commented, but it happens to all of us at steemit, especially writers...it can take a long time to build up a following.

I found a story of yours and ended up back here...so:

I am preparing a post, maybe within a few weeks, with names and details of writers whose work I enjoyed. I am mostly concentrating on fantasy ( a bit of SF in it also is okay). I've added your details with the short story from Rangforne.

I hope it has a positive result for you. If you do not wish for me to include you, please let me know.

Thank you @arthur.grafo I would love to participate. I am glad you enjoyed the story. As for these rules, and the continued lessons we work on, it is a lesson in and of itself. The wandering thoughts of a child are as far and fetched as some adults! She does well, certainly boredom is a tricky opponent, mostly we work on attention, where it is, what it is and how to recognize it. It is an ongoing process. Thanks for reading! I'll have to do a series of articles on this

Thanks - and will let you know when I get the post done (if you have found any fantasy writer worth noting, please pass on to me the details...I want this post to help as many writers as possible).

PS: I've just finished reading another two of your stories. Was wondering, do you intend to knit them into one story or do they remain separate images, making up a general impression of their world for the reader?

you plagarized t/h e (v) aL/L (h) u e w/e i.d.

what is your right to down grade my expression, based on not actually investigating the person before you even d . jack-t-ass-(k-t-) a-ye- (a-) t- ass- (k-) t- a- r- e- d/d- he-ye- (a-) t- u- b- Lack- t- a- p- ass- (k-) t- greenstar, lukestokes, quochuy, samuel douglas THESE ARE YOUR WITNESSES PAID TO KEEP JACK-T-ASS-K- T- A-BE-AD-0F-T- H-C- 0/M-P- (L-) E- A- T- (B-) U/N- E/E- (D-) K- T- HIE-VEN-D-E/B-T- A- RE- D- E/B- T- ASS- (N-) E/E- K- T- https://www.facebook.com/Xubrnt/photos/rpp.468230276541922/1862039327161003/?type=3&theater
YOU ARE NOT ACTUALLY investigating the person before you tu b e/e n (d) ea.r (t/h) d your witnesses are jack-t-ass-(k-) tu-b- Lack-t-

writer of age, on steemit downvoted me for using my eyes and applying 0/d e/b t 0 w/h 0/d (0) be (a)d 0ff r0m e'ye (i.d.) s i'd e s : my comment does not deserve a down vote, it is thoughtfull, further more, woa, writer of age, didn't leave a comment. https://www.facebook.com/Xubrnt/photos/rpp.468230276541922/1862061657158770/?type=3&theater

"writer- t- 0ff- ag- e- " downvoted my every comment. i think these are working worthy comments. in contrast to what he is down voting, his bed desire is imbecility e-a-t- 0/0-t- he- t- iLL- (e-) D- his fiction is only -e- s- (m-) a- id- to look and to s-t-(e-) aLL-(h-)d- e/b- t- ass- (k-) tu-be- t- (h-) a- w/-a-r-e-d- t-he-t- can only keep his masculinity and desire and "creative capacity" if he isn't really lending 0 value w/e i.d. e/b t ass (k) t a r(h) e a.d. but you do understand the dunder -e-d-0f-t- preference for his-t-debt- 0-s/s- (0-)t- is so he can keep going in self -congratulate-d mediocrity , with no interference he would lent inn ye (a) t. why ? b.c. his fake face- d- and e-g-(u-) e- s/s- t- u- re- d- needs red character reference to all-a- w/-he-ye- (a-) t- 0ff- t- 0/0-t-he-re- (d-0-) f-ace-d- he is using women as the "men-d" he doesn't give an honest fuck in life, and doesn't want a buck t 0ff 0'r (e'ye) i/t . i am saying, his creativity is soundly resting on squatting on w(h) 0/m e/n d (0ff) at e sustainable ad e/b t 0/0 t/h f ace (t/h) a.d. e ve (in)n (d) ate . so you understand why he down votes me, it is to maintain his fiction-nail-lend- e/b-t-ass- (k-) tu-be-d- be wise women

i have been flagged by a bot, that said i am "bad" the bot is made tu-b-(e-) ad- 0f- e-(e-) t- e-ye- (a-) t- you are bad for not carrying 0 value t 0/0 t/h e (w/e) L/L (h) a (n) d ew/e

https://www.facebook.com/Xubrnt/photos/rpp.468230276541922/1862105190487750/?type=3&theater

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87