An Old-Fashioned Summer

in #parenting7 years ago

siblings-2248768_1280.jpg

Summer is the stuff of which childhood dreams are made. From the second the school bell rings at the end of the year to the sound of it once more come fall, feet hit the pavement to get out and have as much fun as they can...while they can. As a kid, summers were spent outside from dawn til dusk. We'd run the neighborhood, where we knew just about everyone on every block, and experience the freedom that only children in the summertime can truly know. Our trusty bikes carried us to whatever adventure we could dream up. We'd invent mysteries that needed solving, explore the nearby creek, and climb trees until the skies grew dark and street lights would emit that familiar glow telling us it was time to go home. I can remember spending long afternoons at the pool, staying until my fingers were shriveled raisins and the lifeguards had to chase us out at the end of the day. My friends lived just across the street, and family dinners were often shared on the screened in porch. These are the memories that I carry with me as an adult and the types of memories that I want to pass on to my children. I would love nothing more than for them to look back on their childhood and tell stories of the amazing adventures they once had.

True to my word on my last post, I set about to live in the present moment, put the future aside, and enjoy an old-fashioned summer weekend. Weekends are the only days we have as a family without the comings and goings of the busy schedule my little one has to keep. The weeks can get pretty stressful for all of us, and often when given the chance, he will choose to stay at home on the weekends to just play. We usually try to do something extra special on at least Saturday or Sunday (if he's up to it), and this weekend was no exception.

I have been trying to get my little man to camp out in the backyard for the past two summers. We have yet to accomplish this feat, and I am not going to push him to do that until he is ready. I asked if he'd like to try camping again this weekend, to which he replied, "No, thank you!" While it's on my summer bucket list, apparently, it's not high on his. Striking camping off our list (yet again), we did other things that childhood memories are made of: making homemade ice cream, splashing around at the neighborhood pool, sitting by the crackling campfire, roasting marshmallows for melty s’mores, catching twinkling lightning bugs, and cooling off in the sprinkler. Baby Sister had a fantastic time at the pool (it was her first time), and she loved the sprinkler too--apparently, she's a water baby! She had to miss out on the campfire festivities as she was way too exhausted from her afternoon outing.

My Little Man overcame a lot of fears and found that brave part that lives deep within--he ran through the sprinkler for the first time (which I've been trying to get him to do for a month) and conquered his fears at the pool. He was too young to remember going to the pool last summer, so it felt like the first time all over again. He was ready to leave within five minutes of arriving. Seeing the smile on his face and the pride at overcoming his anxieties showed me that when I can battle my deepest fears and live in the present moment, I am giving him permission and allowing him to do the same. That realization hit me hard and made me contemplate: how much more free from fear could he be if I first set that example for him?

When I asked him what his favorite part of the weekend was, he whispered, “The campfire!”, with a contented smile and an exhausted sigh. He had been waiting so hard to roast marshmallows over the fire like "Monkey George" (Curious George). I learned yet another important lesson as I journey through this unknown experience, one that I hope I will never forget. I know that I will carry the memories of this weekend with me forever, and I hope that they linger in him for just as long. Maybe backyard camping can be in our near future, if I keep leading the way with my brave part so that his little brave part can follow.

IMG_0738.JPG
This wall hanging is just outside the Little
Man's room. I couldn't say it better myself!

(Feature photo courtesy of pixabay.com)

Sort:  

We roasted marshmallows not too long ago ourselves. Something magical about building a fire and sitting around it.

I remember seeing the post and I actually thought about you guys last night! I was thinking how fun it would have been if you all had been there. Although it was SOOOO hot. But, darn it, I had made a promise and I was going to keep it! It was his first time having a s'more. It was so cute.

I'm imagining an EPIC bath was needed after a toddler s'more.

YES...and the dog that got in the way of the first s'more entering said toddler's mouth. He needed one too...

Wow, you're on to great things @thesimplelife! Your kids will definitely have some very nice memories to look back to someday...

Thank you! It really was a great weekend. I wish I didn't have to go back to work in a few weeks!

Awww... same thing happens to me when I go on leave and get to spend full time with them. We just don't want it to end!

Well, I'm having a hard time living in the "supposed to's". Like right now, with the decision of my little guy not being made, we could have been schedule-free this week and it would have been totally our own to do whatever we wanted (if the decision was he was going to stay here). So, I need to clear my head of the "supposed-to's" this morning so that I can enjoy the time we do have together.

Sometimes "not having a plan" is the better plan. 😉

That's the take-away I get from the Little Man. He is so over-scheduled that he doesn't always like plans.

I LOVE s'mores! I'm so pleased you had the chance to introduce him to that. Plus, all of the other amazing experiences last weekend. I hope camping is right around the corner ;)

It was fun! I'm not a marshmallow fan (thanks to the game Chubby Bunny), so he was confused why I was just eating the chocolate. That's the best part to me! I'm hoping camping is, too! I know he'd absolutely love it once he conquers that fear! Thank you!

Thanks for this very nostalgic look at summer. I remember childhood summers very fondly, and also Saturdays...

IMHO, compulsory government education is a blight upon the face of humanity.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Congratulations @thesimplelife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49