Summer Dad Day 5

in #parenting7 years ago

Today marks the first full week of summer break. For the last four days my wife has been home with me and the kids. I love it when all of us are together. Today my wife had to work so it was just me and the three girls: ages 1,3 and 5. (I'll refer to them as "A" "L" and "N" respectively) I had grand plans of detailing our van while the girls play in the yard but.... it rained all day. Perfect time to watch a movie! Strawberry Shortcake - I couldn't look away :) We stayed in all day and the girls played pretty well all day, however the oldest, N, can be a bit bossy and is an excellent tattle tale. A whole afternoon of that can wear a guy down. Between singing, talking, playing and telling her sister what to do, sometimes I wonder if she could ever be quiet. What's funny is that my 3 year old, L, is very much her own person and doesn't listen to her sister which drives N crazy. Meanwhile A is pulling herself up on things, chewing on all the girl's toys and smiling so sweetly.
In all honesty, I felt pretty crappy at the end of the day because I was unable to get anything done that I had planned. I accomplished nothing, except keeping the girls alive and well. By nature I am not cut out to be a stay-at-home dad, but I love them, and I have a whole summer to be their full-time dad.

Sort:  

Congratulations @theducktape! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51