Do YOUR Kids Have Trust Issues: Lying About Santa Claus

in #parenting8 years ago

# A Lie is A Lie

Kids don't care if it was about something as innocent as the "Santa Claus" story. I know it didn't matter one whit to me what the subject was, my parents lost the respect of a 10yr old the year I found out they lied to me.

No, I didn't lie to my child about Santa. They also still fully trust me.

What's your story?

Sort:  

Never lie to the kid
about anything.
I'm not telling you, I said so, We'll talk about it when you're older are correct answers.
They're not lies.
Trust, once lost, like virginity...is very, very hard to regain.

Well said. So far, our son hasn't asked us. When he brought it up, I said I had never seen Santa and I asked my husband if he had, he also said he had not. I like the idea of telling him we'll talk about it when he's older. So far we have not said anything to perpetuate the myth, and we left the roll of christmas paper out, he hasn't said anything about it.

It really is a difficult decision, on the one hand we want our kids to be amazed and believe in "magic" but on the other it involves lying to them. I always said I would not lie to my kids about Santa, since actually having kids I've felt more uncertain about it. My husband and I discussed it several times over the last few weeks and didn't' want to perpetuate the myth. Then off to school my eldest goes and comes back with all the myths as they teach them in school, so now the dilema is even bigger as telling our child the truth will most likely affect other children :( hmmm what to do?

why do you want your kids to believe in something that is not real?
cognitive dissonance leads to mental illness.
Your childs teachers lied to him.
No way you can prevent him from learning that....
THEN you kid will lose faith in the system
do you want your child to lose faith in you too?

Exactly.

Everyone else in life will lie to them, teach them early you won't.

My child grew up knowing Santa is a story.

Though they were taught other children believe it as fact, we did not put them in public school so they missed that little episode. There have been times where other kids were talking about santa and I'm proud they didn't give it away for them.

Better to let a child learn the truth from the parent who lied to them originally, than for them to find out from a stranger. Right?

Lies are lies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60608.55
ETH 2411.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59