Nintendo and Mighty Machines to the Rescue

in #parenting7 years ago

I am not a huge video game person. Played when I was a kid on the Sega, dabbled in Frogger and Need for Speed. I may have perhaps even played some Magical Mystery Mall with the Olsen twins at one point. But, I never saw myself buying a Nintendo Silicone mold teething toy one day. And the day arrived. I had no qualms in spending the $10 it cost. One, because my husband loves video games and his response was “ YAASS” to seeing it. But, more so because this is where my money goes. I buy boy stuff for my two boys.

IMG-6666.JPG

Long gone are the days of strolling around Target and impulse buying scarves and jewelry that were so cute! The concept of running into the dressing room for a minute to try on something is far gone. Try like an hour to try on items. I am that obnoxious person that has 30 items draped on my arm, along with a double stroller, trying to squeeze us all into a fitting room. I avoid eye contact with anyone around and accept that this dressing room is my home for the next hour. Snacks will be had, diapers will be changed, and yes maybe out of all the 30 items, nothing will fit. This is my reality.

Mighty Machines is an amazing show about construction vehicles. And I will honestly say it is in my top favorite shows of my twenties; mainly because it has consumed an enormous amount of my twenties. It has informative songs and the live action ins and outs of the mightiest of machines. Well… Netflix recently discontinued the show and literally I thought we were losing a family member. This is not only a loss by my 3 year old son, but more so for my husband and I. The Mighty Machine song has become our house mantra. We sing it everywhere and it has intertwined itself in many of my sons’ firsts. Talking, walking, scooting, dancing, singing, full sentences… My son’s life and well quite literally my own has played out with the Mighty Machines show as our soundtrack.

Who am I? What have I become? Well I am a boy mom. So when a show this important is out of reach on Netflix, you better believe you buy all of the volumes on Amazon.

Nintendo and Mighty Machines are my life. Maybe they wouldn’t have been my first choice before kids, but they are without a doubt my new favorites. My hours are spent differently now. The hours are full of life, more interesting, and more lyrically chaotic.

My sons are beautifully changing my perspective. They are changing my focus, my filter, my view on life. I have a grander repertoire now, that I can only attest to having my little boys. To that my little rascals, I thank you.

IMG-6656.JPG

Sort:  

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48