The Baby Game

in #parenting7 years ago

Baby Vincent is three months old today!

It's been a very "fun" three months, and it's gone by fairly quickly. It seems like just yesterday I was posting about him almost being here!
Now he's getting fatter, cuter, and making way more noises by the day... He's also very excited (at least @cryptomomma and I are) for Halloween!

0920171215.jpg

As cute as he is, and as happy as I am that he's here, I'll never be playing this game again... I was pretty sure I'd never play the baby game again after my ex-wife and I had our son Carlin. It's a very difficult and frustrating game with incredibly vague rules, little reward, and harsh penalties for fucking up... A part of me wishes humans were born fully walking and talking, ready to deal with at least part of this crazy thing called life, but no, humans have to be one of the only creatures on this planet that requires the utmost attention from its parents.

Don't get me wrong, I love being a father. I just wanted to have kids, and tried not to think about the lead-up. The past three months have been arduous. They have meant very little sleep for a man that wakes up at 3am to go to work. My Steeming has been adversly affected too, just in the writing of this post, I have already had to stop thrice to make sure he's got every little thing he needs.

Luckily, Carlin is 4 years old now, and is able to do enough by himself that I can devote a huge part of my energy to taking care of Vincent. I feel like he's getting the short end of the stick though, because for the past 3 months, he has been made to keep quiet a majority of the time, and some of our usual activities and adventures have had to be put on hold. I just can't take a baby everywhere I could a toddler... Soon though, Carlin will have new best friend, and it will be hard to seperate the two of them.

Babies are the hardest thing I've ever done, but I decided to do it both times, and wouldn't take it back for all the freetime and money in the world. This too shall pass, and I'll be left with two awesome boys who grow into amazing men.



DQmRXDcVJ8REzRKSxzL43n1tb1MrB9aSaFcHheJLJdU8vq5_1680x8400.png

Follow @thatsweeneyguy
to read about @steemparents, @thriveordie, Steemgigs, and way more!

Sort:  

Babies are the most adorable but demanding creatures ever. I have not had any proper sleep for the past 4 years from when I got pregnant with @divinekids #2 then immediately after, #3. Like what you elder Carlin experiences, I also feel that my eldest gets the least attention since he can tend for himself almost all the time. He gets hushed almost always esp when the smaller 2 are sleeping. Oh, it's very challenging. Though it's also a just a matter of time when they grow up and will not need us as much. 😅

Soon you'll be able to throw him over your shoulder and get on with whatever you were doing.

We had twins, a boy and girl...followed in short order by a vasectomy. It was fun, although I was in school when they were babies so my wife did most all of the hard work. Grandkids are a lot easier :-)

OoOohhh how I wish for a vasectomy... @cryptomomma doesn't entirely care for the idea, but I'm done. 😂

Ha Ha. Usually it's the other way around, the guy getting pushed into it by the wife.

I remember that first post! Glad to hear everything is going well-ish. I dont have kids yet but I'm sure it's quite the ride. Best of luck!

It is quite a ride. The fun part for me doesn't really start for another couple years, but I'll do just as I did the first time, and I'll have another awesome kid soon enough!

I'm trying to wrap my head around the whole parenting thing. .. but it is hard because i don't know if I'll ever be ready but that's what everyone says i guess. That and it will be in my womb 9 months
... Lol

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79