Parenting An Adult Child

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

Parenting.jpg

Today I went to my parent's house to pick up my mail. They always leave my mail on the bar. Well, today I went to get my mail, and there was a printout. Being the nosy person I am I picked it up and it was a list.

IMG_5024.jpg

It is addressed to my brother. He is 29 and lives at home with my parents. This isn't necessarily a bad thing; however, he's unemployed. He has been unemployed since he was 19. At one point he was going to university, but he ran out of financial aid 12 hours before he was able to finish his degree. He was employed for less than 90 days (recently) and was fired. He always blames his issues on others and never takes responsibility for his own actions or downfalls. He acts like the world owes him something. I guess this is why he doesn't work.

For the past 6 months, my dad has been trying to get him to find a job. I think this "list" is a final attempt to make him be an adult and take responsibility for himself. As a parent, I'm not sure what I would do in my parents' position.

What would do you? How would you handle this situation?

Thanks4reading.jpg

Sort:  

I am sorry to say so, but I am affraid its a bit to late to start with some education. If your parents let your brother to stay home without contributing to the running cost of the household and did not push him to take care of himself he might become unable to do so. Makeing him now to become independent may lead to harms and create very unpleasant atmosphere which sooner or later could lead to more serious problems. Parental love sometimes has very unwanted consequences...

I am also afraid it is to late for him. He doesn't know anything and I'm doubtful that he is searching for a job. It's a big mess :(.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51