You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The dangers of allowing tears be a negotiation technique during parenting

in #parenting8 years ago

I work with kids, and I agree - hold compassion and respect for the kid, while not allowing their emotional tantrums to manipulate you or the boundaries/requests of the situation. It's ok for them to cry or get frustrated, and help them know they are loved, and that the boundary is still there.

Humor helps. I'm connecting with a two-year old these days, and he has tantrums about different things, whining, crying. I connect through humor and playfulness, and it pops him right out of his funk.

Sort:  

Very true, I use comedy to dry the tears and redirect, while giving a long term view of how the emotional breakdown didn't help solve the problem. The short term and long term thinking helped get her back on the using logic track.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59292.67
ETH 2590.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47