You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling after separation

in #parenting7 years ago

Hey. It's a challenge. When my first husband and I split up, I found jobs where I could take my boy with me. Mostly I worked elder care, and they loved him. Then I had my daughter, and her dad wasn't down with me not working. So, we did a lot of different things. Sometimes I had kids at work with me. Sometimes we traded off, so I worked when he was with them and vice versa. I helped start a Sudbury school, which is like an unschooling school, so that was really perfect until I moved away from it. I'm not aware of any Sudbury in England, but I could be wrong. There's a summerhill, but I'm pretty sure it's only boarding. Anyway, I may be in that situation again soon with my younger two (do I just have horrible taste?). At this point my plan would be to keep doing location independent work. I'd have to work mostly when they're with him or start paying someone to watch them a couple days a week. I've thought about starting another Sudbury, but it's such a pain in the ass.

Sort:  

There is a Sudbury School setting up in East Kent. There are also lots of home ed 3-day a week type set-ups all over the place. Summerhill is only boarding, you are right.
I'm in Birmingham and trying to set something up if anyone is interested to get involved please get in touch.

That's fantastic. If you are going to set up something Sudbury, get in touch with Sudbury valley for sure. They're really supportive. Also Crystal at the school in Amsterdam is amazing and supportive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65053.86
ETH 3538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39