If Parenting is a Hard Job, Then it Follows that Most Parents are Bad at it

in #parenting6 years ago

This is going to be a short post.

A lot of people would agree that parenting is rather difficult, and I also agree. But like every other thing in life; if something is difficult, then it makes sense that a lot of people will fail at doing it. For example, we all want to be millionaires, but obviously very few (if any) of us will ever make it there. That is because making that kind of money is difficult.

The same applies to being a parent. But in my experience, parenting failure is rarely identified and acknowledged. When children and young adults makes terrible life choices, the parent rarely receives criticism nor accountability. When a young kid or adult goes on a shooting rampage or starts feeling suicidal for example, we hear calls for mental health but never for better parenting. And those examples are highly egregious. More subtle crimes like emotional and psychological abuse can go undetected and unpunished for years.

Why do I think this is important? In my opinion, the parent is most beneficial and dangerous entity in a child's life. The parent is responsible for the child's upbringing and education(read: not schooling) such as what's right and what's wrong, how to avoid future pitfalls of life, who to socialize with and how to socialize with them. And all of these practices are performed at home, out of the watchful eyes of neighbors and the law. Meaning the parents can either raise him/her to be a future leader or a future criminal.

Obviously this isn't easy, otherwise everyone would be a star. But they aren't. That is fine. But at the very least they should be educated enough to ensure that they can survive as long as possible.

In my very first post, I talked about the importance of education. I talked about why it was important to navigate through a world that is mostly filled with predators looking to take everything that you love. The parents are an integral part of education and without education, the child may wander into a path of destruction.

Please educate yourself, and pass on the knowledge to your children or future children. We all need it, as the future becomes more and more uncertain each day.

I know this post is kind of unfocused but thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I believe that the best medicine for our children is having a good father, a good Father who loves them and educates them:
I also believe a good nutrition valanciada for Our Children.
It is the Love of the Father. Why? because, it is easy to say that a Mother gave everything for her Children.
And it is easy to say that this Mother was Mother and Father at the same time. But it is not common to hear of the Sons saying, my Father was for me my Mother and my Father, that in the moments of cold, hunger and loneliness he was with me Blessings!...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50