White lines with Daddy

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

This afternoon Daddy and I took advantage of a bit of sun and went out t the field to kick the ball. I am getting pretty good now and even have developed a few fancy footwork tricks to blind the opposition and dazzle the crowds of the future. One thing I have to work on though is my explosive speed so I can blow past players and catch feeds threaded through the defense. So today, we ran lines.

You can see that it is serious business and I have to say, in this particular picture I look fluid like a gazelle bounding across the calm plains of the Savannah. The magic of timing the photo. I am actually getting pretty fast now and Daddy can't just walk to keep up with me, he actually has to get those old legs into a canter. It is good for him though after all the leftover birthday food he has been eating.

I was saying the other day that I have learned to jump like Jordan, but I still have some ways to go before I am dunking on Daddy. Today, after running lines for a few minutes hours, we did some vertical leap training and Daddy managed to catch me in flight in slow motion. Check out that hang-time, I must have been up there for 4 or 5 seconds at least. If you look closely, you can see my cheeks bounce which I think is because of all the effort I put into getting that kind of height and not because I have cheeks like a squirrel who has stored all its food for winter in its mouth.

It has been a really great summer for being outside and we as a family have been out quite a lot enjoying the simple life of the neighbourhood. There are a lot of things to do around here in the summer with the beach, the field, several parks and the boat harbour where Daddy and I go and look at the little boats and, the cranes from the construction site next to it. There is also a large amount of forest to explore which is good fun too but, much harder going since the roots of the trees are tricky to negotiate for my short legs.

All in all, it is a pretty good place to live for a young family I think as it is safe, the neighbours are relatively friendly (some of them), the daycare is unfortunately close and, there is family not too far away. For now, it'll do but, I wonder what there will be to explore in the winter, ice skating, skiing? Daddy can't do either and even though Mummy says she can, no one has ever seen her do them so, there are question marks for the winter season still.

<3
Smallsteps

Sort:  

This is really funny. The video is clear proof of @smallsteps' jumping prowess. Well done!

Thank you. I now jump more than walk.

Excellent. Soon you'll run if not already.

I think daddy needs some skates for Christmas. Have you ever seen an Aussie back down from a challenge?

He can skate okay, he just can't stop. He spins like a ballerina to slow himself down from what I hear.

Look at you go, you'll be high jumping in no time :D Ice skating is pretty easy, just try not to slip sideways or fall in front of someone else ;) Tell Daddy T-stops are okay on ice skates (you're not supposed to do them on inline skates but if you have inlines like mine that don't have brakes that's pretty much the only way to stop in a hurry).

He can't T-stop, just go into a wide arc and then spin around. The side barriers stop him effectively too.

I can see an international athlete in the making. But I have to say that you shouldn't get too excited, maybe she'll want to be an astronaut :-)

... actually scratch that. Moon soccer sounds pretty good

Astronauts won't be a thing when I am older. they will just be called 'tourists'.

Hmmm who knows if your love for the field will keep growing and we see you represent the Finnish team. You can be whatever you want, am certain about that

Glad you're having a great summer little one

It is going to be hard to choose what I want to do in this life. So many cool things out there :)

You got a 43.75% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @smallsteps!

@smallsteps You have received a 100% upvote from @steemmentor because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Attractive picture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29