The chair of contemplation

in #parenting6 years ago

Today we went shopping for a chair. Not just any chair, a magical chair. A chair that grants whoever sits in it the power of time to be alone with their thoughts and think ling and hard about what they have done. A chair that Mummy and Daddy won't, but probably should spend some time in themselves.

Lately I have been testing some boundaries and perhaps, crossed a few also but, there has been no punishment other than some stern talks and frustrated looks. This is about to change and I am going to have a little thinking place in my room from now on. I like to think so it will be a nice break from playing I am sure.

My room isn't very large and is technically half a room because Daddy has his office in there too. I don't spend much time in my room however as I prefer to play in the lounge room and have my usual suspect toys in boxes under the coffee table. Being sent to my room doesn't sound like it will all be fun though because even though I will have the space to think, I won't have anyone to discuss it with, at least straight away. I think that is the idea. I am pretty sure that after the thinking there will be a lot of talking.

This is a hard area for parents these days because no matter what they do, it is going to be wrong somehow but, there has to be consequences to some actions. Having to think about what one has done isn't actually so bad on the scale of possibilities or, what some other little kids have to deal with.

There are some very unprepared parents out there who not only do not have the willingness to learn but, do not have the control over their emotions necessary to be patient with kids. Sometimes I wonder why they chose to have children at all.

Some other parents go the let them do just what they want path. The other day I was sitting in the trolley at the shop and some little girl about twice my age came up and scratched my leg really hard with her nails and made me cry. Her mother didn't even make her say sorry, her mother didn't say anything at all. Just looked on awkwardly and then led her away without even a word. I wonder where that leads her in the future?

Understanding consequence of action is a very important skill according to Daddy as it highlights the need to take responsibility over the self and for what one may cause. This works in the positive as well as the negative of course. Some people take credit when things go well but blame others for bad results. It is not really honest if you think about it, no matter how common.

Anyway, I guess that over time, I will get to have a chance to think all kinds of interesting things in my chair of contemplation. I wonder what kinds of new ideas I will come up with while I think about why I did the things I did in the past. As said, I like to think and I think a lot already but perhaps, having my own thinking space will allow me to think a bit differently than I currently do.

Like right now, I am thinking what I have to do to be sent to the chair of contemplation. I think I will test my theories tomorrow as now, I ma thinking to go to bed and dream instead.

<3
Smallsteps

Sort:  

I need a chair of contemplation too because I'm also contemplating giving you hugs!

Hugs don't need a chair, they can be given anywhere.

You got a 47.88% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @smallsteps!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81