You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dark, Disturbing and Somewhat Horrible, the History and Origins of Nursery Rhymes #3: 🌺 Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary 🌺

in #parenting7 years ago

is this for real or just myth? my daughter and i keep singing this song every time we watering our garden. this make me a bit sad. :( anyway! looking forward for your next posts :)

Sort:  

@sheshebaylosis :( I'm sorry to hear that this makes you sad... doesn't look like I picked a good one this week... There are a couple of different ideas behind the words, so perhaps in your case this one would be better:

Mary is the Virgin Mary, the “pretty maids all in a row” are nuns, and the “cockle shells” are a reference to the famous badges worn by pilgrims on the Santiago de Compostela. The bells are church bells ringing...

I also used to sing this with my Nanna in the garden...

that version is much better. i put that on my mind and forget the other version. thank you @redwellies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60855.77
ETH 2668.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47