You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things I Wish I Knew About Parenting Before Becoming a Parent Part One

in #parenting6 years ago

Oh. That is very interesting for me. I am planning to have kids within 3 years at the latest.
I thought kids were sacrifice and trouble.
Now I repeat instant love (that grows exponentially). What if your kid is a selfish bitch and you can't help it?
All right, now I go read part 2.

Sort:  

That was the point of the article - people don’t automatically love their kids... for various reasons. You have to work at the relationships sometimes. If your kid is a jerk, you have some serious questions to ask yourself.

Is there something I can change about their circumstances? Can I show them better examples? Is there a need that isn’t being met?

And the hardest one. Is this person (because your children are people) just a
Bad person? And. How long do I put up with it.

I tend to have magical thinking about parenting and feel that love and attention can cure everything, but my kids are still young (and very loving beings).

My parents are lovely and caring and my sister is a complete bitch. She is one of the most selfish human beings I have ever met. I shut down any communication with her longtime ago, but my parents just can't. They absorb any crap from her, which I find it quite unfair.

That’s a tough one, for you, your parents, and probably even your sister.

Who knows what makes some of us end up so selfish?

I don’t know what I would do but consider myself lucky that I don’t have to think about it too much.

Maybe they dropped her when she was little (a joke - although sometimes we do hurt our kids in weird recognizable-by-us ways) and they feel bad.

One thing I like to remember when I see siblings who are different is that everybody has different parents. Even siblings from the same marriage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61555.74
ETH 2980.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51